What Are UM Students Busy With?

Text:UM Reporters Grace Chen, Bobo Sio & Hong Xuancu
Photo:UM Reporters Grace Chen, Hong Xuancu, with some provided by the interviewees
Issue 83 November My UM

When you were in high school, you were encouraged by your parents to study hard. They probably said something like, ‘Don’t begrudge working hard now. Once you get into college, you can lie back and relax.’ Eventually, you did get into college, only to find yourself even busier than before. If you feel this way, you are not alone. In fact, many UM students have jam-packed schedules every day. Why is everyone so busy? In this issue, we interviewed several UM students to find out. Working as a Student

Left:Lai Iat Meng Right:Wong Qai Shan

Helper

Wong Qai Shan, a second-year student from the Department of Accounting and Information Management and a member of the Honours College, is a serious student and an active participant in extracurricular activities. She is a student helper in UM’s Office of Sports Affairs, a project coordinator for the English Table in Shiu Pong College, a member of the Rock Climbing Team, and an organiser of activities in her residential college. She says, ’You are supposed to live your college life to the fullest.’

Running a Shop

Lai Iat Meng, a fourth-year student from the Department of Economics, runs a shop in the Student Activity Centre, which provides a variety of services for UM staff and students, such as collecting parcels, repairing and selling bikes, transporting lab equipment, and selling flowers. Commenting on the courier boxes that litter his shop, Lai says, ‘There is a growing demand for courier collection service in the new academic year, which has increased our workload.’

Left:Liu Weihang Right:Wan Yingjia

Key Member of Student Associations

Wan Yingjia, a second-year student in the Bachelor of Education (English) programme, is the head of the Secretariat of the Model United Nations Association under the UM Students’ Union, as well as a member of the UM English Debating Team and a musical group in Cheong Kun Lun College. She says, ‘As long as you sort out your priorities, be selective about what you commit yourself to, and plan ahead, you will be able to cope with the competing demand for your time.’

Liu Weihang, a third-year student from the Department of Finance and Business Economics, is the vice treasurer general of the Students’ Union. He is mainly responsible for finding external funding for SU’s sub-associations and preparing their financial reports. He is involved in almost every activity organised by the SU. His major requires him to write a lot of papers and reports, most of which need to be done in collaboration with his classmates. He says, ‘I have many thoughts on economics, so no matter how busy I am, I always find the time to work with my classmates to complete the assignments. ’

Left:Wong Wui Tong Right:Huang Lesheng

Being an Intern Teacher

Wong Wui Tong, a fourth-year student in the Bachelor of Education (Pre-primary Education) programme, currently interns in a local kindergarten. She also teaches a Mandarin interest class in the kindergarten on Saturdays. Despite the busy daily schedule, she derives great satisfaction from her work. ‘Small things, like teaching the students to write a simple character, or hearing them call me Miss Wong, makes me feel so happy,’ she says.

Preparing for the MA Entrance Exam

Huang Lesheng, a second-year student of biomedical sciences, hopes to enter a good overseas graduate school for further studies. With this goal in mind, he works hard to improve his English. He even joined the English Group in Shiu Pong College. ‘English is an important skill for daily communication and for my graduate studies,’ he says.

澳大學生忙甚麼?

文:校園記者陳婉恆、蕭麗紅、洪瑄粗 │ 圖:校園記者陳婉恆、洪瑄粗,部分由受訪者提供 │ 第83期 十一月號 澳大人

“現在辛苦一點,上了大學就輕鬆。”在中學時,長輩常常這樣說來激勵我們,但到真正投入大學生活後,不少澳門大學學生都發現自己每天行程滿滿,到底大家都在忙甚麼?

左:黎一鳴 右:黃凱珊

學生助理

來自馬來西亞的會計及資訊管理學系二年級兼榮譽學院學生黃凱珊一方面投入學業,另一方面,擔任體育事務部學生助理、紹邦書院英語桌項目協調助理、攀岩隊員,以及組織和參加書院活動,她笑說:“校園生活就應該要過得充實。"

經營店鋪

經濟學系四年級學生黎一鳴在學生活動中心經營商鋪“濠運幫”,為師生提供快遞代取和單車維修售賣等服務,有時更會運輸實驗器材和售賣花束。望著佈滿店舖的快遞箱,黎一鳴說:“澳大人對快遞代取服務的需求在新學年有所上升,工作壓力亦隨之而增。”

左:劉偉杭 右:萬穎佳

社團骨幹

教育學士(英文)課程二年級學生萬穎佳是澳大學生會模擬聯合國協會秘書處處長、澳大英語辯論隊隊員和張崑崙書院一支樂隊的成員。她說:“只要排好優先項目,做好取捨,定好計劃,可以很好地應對時間的挑戰。”

金融及商業經濟學系三年級學生劉偉杭是澳大學生會副財務長,主要幫助各個屬會去申請校外資助,處理屬會的財務報告等,另外也負責跟進學生會的其他活動,“基本上學生會的每一個活動我都有份參與籌劃。”由於他所讀的專業是比較多寫論文和報告,大部分都需要團隊合作,“因為在經濟學方面我有好多想法,所以即使再忙我都會花時間和同學共同協作。”

左:黃滙通 右:黃樂生

實習老師

教育學士(學前教育)課程四年級學生黃滙通在今個學年要到一所幼稚園開展為期一年的實習,並在星期六到幼稚園教授普通話興趣班。“儘管每天都很忙碌,但我認為這個過程的每一瞬間都是非常值得的。哪怕只是小朋友學會寫一個很簡單的字,或叫我一聲黃老師,這些微小的事情都能讓我收穫到滿滿的成功感。”

忙於考研

生物醫藥專業二年級學生黃樂生希望將來能夠考上心儀的國外研究所,提升英文能力是讀研的關鍵一環,“無論是溝通還是學習,皆需要英文的應用”。因此他參與了紹邦書院的英語小組,以鞏固自己的學習基礎,為日後報考研究生課程做好準備。