UM Students in Portugal

Text:UM Reporters Zhang Leilei, Tian Huining  │ Photo:Provided by the interviewees  │  ISSUE 89  May 2019  My UM

UM students have the opportunity to study abroad at one of over 150 universities around the world to experience different cultures and to pursue diverse educational experiences. More than ten of these universities are located in Portugal. In this article, three students from UM share their experiences living and studying in this unique country which borders the Atlantic Ocean.

Gloria Pun

Portuguese-Speaking Environment for Studying Law

Last February, Gloria Pun, a third-year student in both the Honours College and the Faculty of Law, travelled to Portugal to join an exchange programme at the University of Coimbra, the country’s oldest university with more than 700 years of history. ‘The law courses were taught in Portuguese,’ says Pun. ‘My teacher would not slow down the pace of the lecture to accommodate for the Chinese students in class. After class, I usually returned to my dormitory to read and review the content for the next lecture.’

According to Pun, her teacher once said in class that even though she and her friends from Macao were not proficient in Portuguese, they were the most hard-working students and always tried to catch up with the class. ‘I was touched by her words because my effort and hard work was recognised,’ says Pun. She adds that Coimbra is a very energetic university town. ‘The city and the university have blended with each other. Stepping out of my faculty, I could reach the Faculty of Psychology in just a few blocks,’ says Pun. ‘The town is relaxing but at the same time filled with energy.’

Stephen Mok

Meeting Students from Around the World

Clara Yang, a third-year student in the Department of Portuguese and a resident of Choi Kai Yau College, participated in an exchange programme at the University of Porto last semester. Most of her classmates were Portuguese, while some were exchange students from Spain or other countries. According to Yang, many locals were interested in Asian culture. She also became friends with a Portuguese student who was studying Chinese language.

Yang transferred to the University of Coimbra this semester. ‘Porto is the second largest city in Portugal. After class, my classmates and I would spend some time walking around town, hanging around the bridge, or watching sunset in a park,’ says Yang. ‘Coimbra has a very good academic vibe, but the town is quite small and there are fewer things to do.’ In the next summer holiday, she will travel to Angola with a professor to participate in a research project about Portuguese language in Africa.

Clara Yang

First Skydiving Experience

Stephen Mok, a third-year student in the Faculty of Business Administration and a resident of Moon Chun Memorial College, took up an exchange in the School of Economics and Management at the University of Lisbon. Before heading to Portugal, Mok thought potatoes were the main staple food for Portuguese people. It was only some time later that he realised they eat a wide variety of food, including various Asian cuisines. When he was unsure about the pronunciation of a word, he would ask the local people for assistance. ‘They are very friendly and are willing to teach you,’ says Mok.

Since his classes were designed for exchange students, he spoke to his classmates primarily in English. He says that European students are very serious about their studies. For group projects, in addition to discussing issues online, they would also meet with each other after class. Outside the classroom, Mok visited Algarve in the south of Portugal and engaged in his first skydiving adventure from a height of 5,000 metres. The experience allowed him to appreciate the beautiful scenery from above.

澳大學生在葡萄牙

文:校園記者張雷蕾、田蕙寧  │ 圖:由受訪者提供  │  第89期 五月號 澳大人

澳門大學學生可以到全球150多所高等院校交流和學習。其中,學生可以到葡萄牙10多所大學當交換生,感受不同地域的文化。在葡萄牙這個濱臨大西洋的國家,三位來自澳大的學生正在體驗不一樣的學習和生活經歷。

潘嘉燕

全葡語環境學習法律

今年二月,榮譽學院、法學院三年級學生潘嘉燕離開澳門,到了葡萄牙最古老、擁有700多年歷史的科英布拉大學當交換生。「這裡的法律課都是用葡語講授,老師也不會因為班上有中國同學就慢下節奏。我下課後基本上就是回宿舍看書,預習明天老師要講的內容。」

她的老師有一次在班上表示,雖然澳門的學生不太精通葡語,但他們是最勤奮的一群,努力地跟上進度。「當時我就感動了,覺得自己的辛苦和努力有人理解。」潘嘉燕說,科英布拉是一座充滿活力的大學城,「整個城市與大學融為一體。步出自己學院,穿過幾條街又能看到一個心理學院。整個城市又讓人感覺有一種安靜的活力。」

楊逸超

認識各國學生

葡文系三年級、蔡繼有書院學生楊逸超上學期在波爾圖大學當交換生,同學主要是葡萄牙人,也有一些來自西班牙的學生和其他國家的交換生。她說不少當地人對東方的文化頗感興趣,她也結識了一位正在學習中文的葡萄牙朋友。

楊逸超今個學期轉到科英布拉大學學習。「波爾圖是葡萄牙第二大城市,我和同學在下課後還可以去城裡逛一逛,有時候去橋上走一走,去公園看看夕陽。科英布拉學術氛圍很好,但是整個城市很小,生活比較空閒。」在接下來的暑假,她將會跟隨一位老師到安哥拉一個月,參加一項關於非洲葡語的研究項目。

莫小檳

人生第一次跳傘

工商管理學院三年級、滿珍紀念書院學生莫小檳在里斯本大學經濟管理學院當交換生。他到葡萄牙前以為當地人以馬鈴薯為主食,但後來發覺他們的食材種類繁多,也融合了亞洲的食物。生活上,他遇到一些單詞也會問一下葡文發音,「當地人都很熱情,很願意告訴你。」

在學習方面,因為班上都是來自歐洲各國的交換生,莫小檳上課時與同學主要以英語交流,他說歐洲的同學態度認真,做分組作業時除了會在網上溝通,更會經常約出來討論。在課堂以外,莫小檳最近更到了葡萄牙南部的阿爾加維,從5,000米的高空進行人生第一次的跳傘,飽覽當地壯麗的景色。