This Is How Courage Is Developed

Chinese & English: Senior UM Reporter Ku Weng Hin | Photo: Provided by the interviewees | ISSUE 115 August My UM

‘Fire tests gold, suffering tests brave men,’ goes an old saying. Each person has a different story of developing courage through hard times. How did the following three members of the University of Macau (UM) summon up their courage when they faced challenges in life and learning?

The Greater the Challenge, the Greater the Courage

Dr Qi Yaning, associate master of Choi Kai Yau College (CKYC), had to choose between working in academia or industry after obtaining her PhD in biological sciences in 2011. Her PhD studies mainly focused on enzymes and signaling pathways in microorganisms, and when she graduated, many of her fellow students opted for postdoctoral positions for the chance to work at universities. However, after much consideration, she decided to join the R&D centre of an international company to work in product development. ‘I wanted to try something different from what the “ivory tower” has to offer. I was not sure if I would be successful with my career change, but the greater the challenge, the more courage I seemed to have to overcome it,’ says Dr Qi.

Dr Qi Yaning

After gaining a few years of professional experience, Dr Qi took on a new challenge in 2014, joining UM to work as residential fellow at CKYC. That year, UM implemented the residential college system to carry out whole-person education. ‘We faced various difficulties in setting up our residential college. It was like walking through darkness. Prof David Pong, founding master of the CKYC, always encouraged us by saying “(It is) we who make history”, which gave the fellows and students a lot of confidence and courage,’ says Dr Qi. ‘Eight years have passed, and the residential college system has become a distinctive feature of UM. The courage to step out of one’s comfort zone to take on challenges is a quality that I truly admire.’

Finding Courage in Research

Zhang Yuwei, a recent graduate of the Department of Computer and Information Sciences, who was also a member of Cheng Yu Tung College, decided to do a final year project on masked face recognition after noticing that during the pandemic, many face recognition systems could not detect users with masks.

Zhang Yuwei

In the project, Zhang had to conduct extensive experiments with the masked face recognition dataset. The project was hard and complicated, but she mustered up the courage to continue her work. After many all-nighters, the results proved her method to be effective. ‘Do not retreat when things get difficult. Think positively about how you can deal with it, rather than just focusing on the difficulty itself,’ says Zhang. With this attitude, she overcame many challenges in her studies. She even won the Best Final Year Project Award from the Faculty of Science and Technology for her project, which has given her more courage to pursue her dreams in the future.

Zhang will pursue a master’s degree at Yale University in August this year. She says she will continue to face the unknown with the courage she gained from doing research at UM: ‘Stay true to yourself and keep your faith. Your goals will eventually come true!’

The Courage to Explore the Literary World

U Seng Chin is a third-year student in the Faculty of Chinese Language and Literature and a resident of Chao Kuang Piu College. He was born with cerebral palsy, a disability caused by a lack of oxygen to his brain during birth. Although it does not affect his intelligence, he has had mobility limitations since his childhood. ‘My childhood dream was to explore the world and see breathtaking landscapes, but my body does not allow me to do that. So I decided to explore the world of words,’ he says. U’s current dream is to become a writer and his physical condition cannot stop him from pursuing his passion. In his final year of high school, he obtained excellent grades and was admitted to UM through the Principals’ Recommended Admission Scheme. This is his first step towards realising his dream.

U Seng Chin

Passionate about writing, U ran for the post of the editorial director of the Literature Club of the UM Students’ Union, although at first he was not sure if he was competent enough to take this position. Moreover, the club required each candidate to deliver a speech, which made him even more hesitant. In the end, he summoned up the courage to take on this challenge and requested to publish his speech instead of delivering it in front of the club members. His request was eventually accepted and he was also elected to the post. This is one of the many examples of U facing challenges in his life and studies with a positive attitude. ‘In my opinion, being courageous means daring to try new things and stepping out of your comfort zone,’ he says.

勇氣是這樣煉成的

文 :資深校園記者古詠軒 | 圖:由受訪者提供 | 第115期 八月號 澳大人

「真金在烈火中煉就,勇氣在困難中培養。」每個人對勇氣都有不同的體會。三名澳大人在生活和求學路上面對難題時,勇氣給了他們怎樣的力量迎難而上?

挑戰越大,勇氣越大

蔡繼有書院副院長齊亞寧博士在2011年取得生命科學博士學位之際,面臨她人生中的一次重大抉擇。她讀博期間一直做微生物中的酶以及信號通路研究,畢業時很多同學都選擇從事博士後研究以留在高校發展,她思索後決定進入一間國際企業的研發中心,投身產品研發的工作,「我想嘗試不一樣的東西,更想去看看『象牙塔』外的世界。一開始我並不確定自己能否轉行成功。但越是有挑戰,越激發我想要戰勝它的勇氣。」

齊亞寧博士

經過幾年在業界的磨練,2014年齊博士再次接受人生的新挑戰, 加入澳大並在蔡繼有書院擔任書院導師。這一年,澳大全面推行住宿式書院系統,實踐全人教育模式。她說:「雖然創院初期有各種困難,很多東西完全未知, 如同摸黑走夜路。當時的蔡繼有書院創院院長龐百騰教授一直激勵我們,「We who make history!」他當年這句話也給了我們導師和同學極大的信心和勇氣。八年過去,住宿式書院系統已經成為澳大的辦學特色之一。跳出舒適區,接受困難和挑戰,也是我生活中很欣賞的勇氣。」

研究出來的勇氣

電腦及資訊科學系應屆畢業生張羽惟在大學四年級時,留意到疫情下大家需要佩戴口罩,人臉識別與檢測系統因此無法使用,於是她在大四時決定以「人臉口罩的識別與檢測」為畢業設計項目。

張羽惟

為了這個項目,張羽惟需要在戴口罩人臉識別數據集上進行大量實驗,項目十分艱鉅且繁複,但她還是鼓起勇氣堅持下去。經歷過無數個通宵達旦,她的研究最終成功。「面對困難時,我們不要退縮,應積極思考應對方法,而不是只思考困難本身。」這股精神使她在學業方面攻克了許多難題,還獲科技學院頒發「最優秀畢業設計項目獎」,令她未來更有勇氣繼續走在追夢路上。

張羽惟今年八月赴美國耶魯大學繼續攻讀碩士,她說會繼續拿出大學時做研究訓練出來的勇氣面對未知: 「不忘初心,堅定信念,目標終會實現!」

在文字中探險

余承展是中國語言文學系三年級、曹光彪書院的學生,他出生時因腦缺氧導致腦癱,雖然智力與常人無異,不過從小就行動不便。「我小時的夢想是踏遍世界各地看風景,但我的身體狀況不允許,只好退一步,在文字中探險。」余承展的志願是成為作家,身體的障礙阻擋不了他追求理想,在高中時他還憑優異成績,通過「校長推薦入學計劃」入讀澳大,踏出追夢的第一步。

余承展

熱愛文字創作的他曾猶豫是否競選澳大學生會文學創作社編輯部部長,起初他也擔心無法勝任,加上他知道競選時要發表一段宣言,所以十分糾結。後來他轉念一想,決定鼓起勇氣提出發表文字宣言,結果獲該社接納,最終成功當選。在生活和學習常遇不少挑戰的余承展,一直都沒有氣餒並積極面對:「我認為敢於接受新事物和踏出舒適圈,就稱得上有勇氣。」