RC: A ‘Home’ for Students to Showcase Their Talents

Text: Senior UM Reporter Ginnie Liang, UM Reporter Amy Tung │ Photo: Chief UM Reporter Steven Lo, UM Reporter Lyon Tan │ Issue 87 My UM March 2019

The University of Macau’s (UM) residential colleges (RC) offer a home-away-from-home for students. In addition to a comfortable living environment, the RCs provide a multifaceted education for the young adults to nurture their various non-academic soft skills. The RCs also serve as a platform for college members to fulfill their potential by showcasing their talent during their free time.

Pang Yayuan

Performing with Music Maestros

On a sunny afternoon, I walked by Moon Chun Memorial College (MCMC) and heard violin music coming from the building. It was so beautiful that I felt as if I were travelling back in time to a tranquil medieval European town. The music was played by Pang Yayuan, a third-year student in the Department of Economics and MCMC. Playing the violin is her favourite college activity.

Pang started playing the violin in her childhood and has passed the Grade 10 violin examination for amateurs offered by the Central Conservatory of Music of China. With the support of Prof Kevin Thompson, master of MCMC, Pang has performed multiple times at the college’s High Table Dinner as well as gatherings of the chambers of commerce of different countries. According to Pang, her most unforgettable performance took place at a charity dinner gathering organised by the France Macau Chamber of Commerce. Pang describes that night as a thrilling experience. ‘They changed the concert programme that I had prepared for the performance,’ says Pang.  ‘The music maestro in the concert decided to give an improvised performance.’ The maestro is Gene Moon, director of orchestral studies at Collinsworth School of Music at California Baptist University. After the performance, Pang told Moon that her performance was terrible and she could not keep up with his improvisation. Yet the maestro told her that she already did a very good job, and encouraged her to practise harder.

 

Chiang Hio Fai

Over 200 Videos Produced

For Chiang Hio Fai, a third-year student in the Department of Communication and Ma Man Kei and Lo Pak Sam College, college life has inspired him to create videos and start a career as a YouTuber. Chiang likes to make video recordings of the details of his daily life. Without a lot of filming equipment when he started, he recorded many videos with his phone. In the past two years, Chiang gradually acquired more equipment and created more than 200 videos. So far he has gathered a view count of more than 60,000 on his channel. Chiang likes to apply what he learned from a photography course and always looks to try new styles. ‘If you are a sincere person, you will shine wherever you go,’ says Chiang.

Leong Ka Wai (middle) and the CKYC Cheerleading Team

Platform to Showcase Dance Skills

Leong Ka Wai, also a third-year student in the Department of Communication, joined the Choi Kai Yau College Cheerleading Team when she entered college. At the beginning, she only wanted to find a reason to keep practising dancing. Because of her passion for dancing, she continued to improve her skills and was later promoted to the leader of team. During an inter-college cheerleading competition in 2018, standing on the shoulders and hands of her teammates, Leong managed to pull off difficult high jumps and somersaults. Her outstanding skills created a lot of excitement for the audience. Under her leadership, the Choi Kai Yau College Cheerleading Team won its fifth consecutive championship.  ‘I love the cheerleading team because it lets me put my free time to good use,’ says Leong.

書院:學生各展才藝的「家」

文:資深校園記者梁曉菁、校園記者董詠詩 │ 圖:首席校園記者羅兆峰、校園記者陳長能  │  第87期 三月號 澳大人

書院, 是澳門大學學生的另一個「家」,以體驗式、全方位、全天候方式培養學生非專業科目以外的軟實力。在這裡,同學們的百般才藝都得到充分的展現,還創造出不一樣的樂趣。

龐雅元

與音樂大師演奏

陽光明媚的下午,滿珍紀念書院裡傳來一陣陣悠揚的弦樂聲,彷彿一下子就把人拉回了中世紀時期某個寧靜的歐洲小鎮角落,原來是經濟學系三年級的院生龐雅元在拉小提琴,這是她在書院最喜愛的活動。龐雅元從小學習小提琴,現已達到中央音樂學院的業餘10級程度。她在院長湯柏燊教授的支持下,經常參與高桌晚宴的音樂表演,定期跟隨院長出席來自世界各地的商會表演和茶會交流。回憶起以往最印象深刻的音樂會,便是法國澳門工商會慈善晚宴,龐雅元形容它是驚心動魄,「本來排練好的樂章突然全都變了樣,演奏會上的大師級樂手決定來一段即興演奏。」那位大師是加州浸會大學音樂學院的管弦樂研究主任Gene Moon,演奏會結束以後,她跟Gene說:「我實在太差了,你的即興我都沒跟上。」然而大師卻告訴她:「你已經很棒了。」更鼓勵她好好練琴。

鄭曉輝

製作逾200條影片

對於傳播系三年級、馬萬祺羅柏心書院院生鄭曉輝來說,書院的生活給了他創作影片的靈感,更激勵他展開自己的YouTuber生涯,並自編自導自演把這些日常點滴拍成短片。他的器材並不多,常常是拿起自己的手機就開始拍攝。兩年以來,他不斷添置攝影器材,至今製作了200餘條影片,更積累了6萬餘次的觀看次數。他把在大學攝影課上學到的知識運用到自己的短片裡,不斷嘗試新的風格,他信心滿滿地說:「只要有心,全世界都是舞台。」

梁嘉慧(中)和蔡繼有書院啦啦隊

展現舞藝的平台

傳播系三年級學生梁嘉慧在剛入學時就加入了蔡繼有書院啦啦隊,一開始她只是想找個理由讓自己保持舞蹈訓練,後憑著對舞蹈的熱愛,激發她不斷學習更專業的技巧,一年後更被推舉為啦啦隊隊長。在2018年度院長杯啦啦隊比賽上,梁嘉慧直立在一群隊員的肩膀和雙手之上,高難度的跳躍和翻跟斗,引發全場觀眾熱血沸騰,最終為蔡繼有書院啦啦隊創下5連冠佳績。「我很喜歡啦啦隊,因為它讓我的課餘生活變得很豐富。」