UM Alumna and Illustrator Yang Sio Maan

Text:Senior UM Reporter Savanna Lok │ Photo:Davis Ip, with some provided by the interviewee │  ISSUE 91 SEPTEMBER My UM

An illustration depicting UM student life on campus was recently exhibited in London. The illustrator is Yang Sio Maan, an alumna of UM’s Department of English.

Yang graduated from UM in 2015. Soon after her graduation, she travelled to the United Kingdom to study illustration. Upon returning to Macao, she continued with her artistic pursuits. In July this year, she held her first solo exhibition in Macao titled ‘Everywhere and Anywhere’. Later in the same month, she was invited to attend the World Illustration Awards 2019 (WIA) held in the UK as the Category Winner of the Advertising New Talent Award.

UM Alumna and Illustrator Yang Sio Maan

Award-winning Poster of the Three Lamps District

Organised by the Association of Illustration in the UK, this year’s World Illustration Awards received 3,600 entries from 68 countries and regions. Only 200 were selected, and these include Yang’s two entries. One of her entries, titled ‘Arts in the Three Lamps District’, became one of 16 Category Winners at the event. It was also the only entry from Macao to win an award at the event. Both illustrations were exhibited in the Somerset House in downtown London.

Yang’s illustration Arts in the Three Lamps District, received an award at the World Illustration Awards 2019

According to Yang, the illustration Oh My Uni Days is a depiction of her impression of the Henry Fok Pearl Jubilee College during her first visit to the college. Not only has she taught illustration classes in the college; she has also created a series of illustrations at the invitation of the college’s Associate Master Vivian Jiang. These illustrations depict different college scenes, such as the High Table Dinner, talent show, college library, and celebration of the Mid-Autumn Festival.

Yang’s illustration about the Henry Fok Pearl Jubilee College was selected for the World Illustration Awards 2019

UM Campus—A Fountain of Creative Inspiration

The UM campus is a fountain of creative inspiration for Yang. ‘It could be anything: the music I suddenly hear, a joke my friend tells, or something funny I see on the campus…they attract my attention, and I record what they make me feel at the moment by sketching,’ she says. This time, taking the opportunity to receive the award in the UK, she travelled to some other European countries and recorded funny events along the way in a sketchbook she carried with her. ‘Sometimes people would stop and watch while I was sketching, which was an amazing feeling,’ she recalls.

Actually, Yang had very limited exposure to illustration when she was in middle school. At the time, the only thing she knew how to draw were stick figures. But during her fourth year in college, she enrolled in a course in children’s literature, which required the students to complete an illustrated children’s book as an end-of-term assignment, and that became her first creative production. While studying at UM, she assisted the Student Association in the Faculty of Science and Technology with the creation of posters and banners. Although just a beginner, she felt greatly encouraged when seeing the posters and banners she made on the campus.

Recently Yang has started making clay art

Doing Illustration Full-time

After graduation from UM, Yang decided to pursue a career in arts, a field she knew very little about. ‘I didn’t even know that there are college majors in illustration,’ she says. So she enrolled herself in several painting classes and compiled her assignments from these classes into a collection. Those classes were so tightly scheduled that Yang felt like a full-time student. But her hard work finally paid off. Later, these painting assignments earned her a place at the University for the Creative Arts (UCA) in the UK.

After graduating from the UCA with a master’s degree in illustration, Yang set a goal for herself, which was to become a full-time professional illustrator in three years. But it was not as easy as she had imagined. A fresh graduate with no established reputation and no connections in the local arts scene, she had to work part-time to support herself for almost a year while doing illustrations at the same time. Later, she found a full- time job in art administration while continuing to make illustrations for organisations in Macao and Hong Kong. It was only in July of this year that she resumed illustrating full-time.

Yang at her graduation exhibition in the UK in 2016

Works that Communicate with the Viewers

Earlier this year, Yang held her first solo exhibition titled ‘Everywhere and Anywhere’. The exhibition featured a series of paintings of a Nowhere Man, who lacks a clear face. She explains, ‘These paintings contain little stories, which mean different things to different people. This Nowhere Man doesn’t have a clear face, which creates room for imagination and allows the viewers to project their stories onto this person. I hope to create works that can communicate with the viewers.’

Yang creates commissioned illustration projects for a number of publications

Once, Yang was pleasantly surprised to hear from her friends that someone had seen her illustrations in a literary magazine during a trip to Zurich, Switzerland. ‘I never expected my works to end up on the other side of the world,’ she says. ‘Pursuing arts full-time is not easy, but it gives me a lot of satisfaction, so I will keep going.’

校友專訪:插畫師洋小漫的他和她

文:資深校園記者陸美賢 │ 圖:葉浩男、部份由受訪者提供 │    第91期 九月號 澳大人

澳門大學學生的校園生活,最近化成一幅插畫在倫敦展出。作品背後是英文系校友、本地插畫師洋小漫的一番心血。

洋小漫2015年從澳大畢業,不久遠赴英國學習插畫,回澳後繼續從事創作。今年7月,她在澳門舉行首場個人作品展「他和她和他和她」,同月更到英國領取「世界插畫大獎2019」廣告插畫類新銳首獎。

澳門大學校友、插畫師洋小漫

三盞燈海報獲獎

世界插畫大獎由英國插畫家協會主辦,今年收到來自68個國家和地區逾3,600份作品,入圍的有200幅,當中兩幅出自洋小漫之手。其中一幅作品《三盞燈下的藝術地圖》更獲全場16個「類別獎項」之一,是唯一得獎的澳門作品。兩幅作品均在7月於倫敦市中心的薩默塞特府展出。

洋小漫的作品《三盞燈藝術地圖》在世界插畫大獎2019獲獎

小漫說,入圍作品《Oh My Uni Days》紀錄了她第一次到訪澳大霍英東珍禧書院時的印象。她曾在該書院教插畫,後來獲副院長蔣怡邀請,創作一系列以書院生活為題的插畫,題材包括高桌晚宴、才藝表演、圖書室和中秋慶典。

洋小漫一幅以霍英東珍禧書院為題的插畫入圍世界插畫大獎2019

創作由校園開始

小漫的創作靈感大多源自生活中的見聞。「可能是突然聽到的音樂、朋友的一個笑話,或者路邊有趣的事,這些都會吸引我注意。我想把當刻的感覺記錄下來。」今次她除了到英國領獎,還到了其他歐洲國家旅行,途中隨身帶著速寫本,記錄沿路趣事。小漫說:「有時一些途人會停下來觀看我在做甚麼,那種感覺非常奇妙。」

這位插畫師說,她中學時其實沒有太多機會接觸插畫,只會畫「火柴人」,但大四那年在英文系修讀了一科「兒童文學」,要交一份兒童繪本作為期末作業,這也成為她第一本藝術作品。她在澳大學習時,也有協助科技學院學生會製作海報和橫幅。「那時我的作品真的是半桶水,但見到作品掛在校園各處,受到很大的鼓舞。」

洋小漫最近開始創作紙粘土

全職投身插畫

小漫畢業後決定往藝術方面發展,但對這個領域認識不多,笑言「當時甚至不知有插畫這個專業」。她於是報讀多個繪畫興趣班,把作業製成作品集。「當時課程安排非常緊密,就像全職上課那樣的狀態。」憑著這些作品,她後來獲英國創意藝術大學取錄,攻讀關於插畫的碩士課程。

在英國畢業後,她為自己定下一個期限,希望三年內成為全職插畫師。小漫稱,剛剛畢業時沒有名氣,同行也不認識她,經歷了約一年一邊兼職、一邊創作的生活後,她轉而從事全職藝術行政的工作,但繼續為澳門和香港的機構創作插畫,到今年7月重新全職創作。

洋小漫2016年在英國參加碩士作品展

作品和讀者交流

小漫今年舉辦了首個插畫展「他和她和他和她」。她為展覽創作了一系列名為「Nowhere Man」的人物,將他們都剪貼在牆上。細心留意的話,就會發覺這些人物都沒有清晰的樣貌。「我的作品都蘊含了一個個小故事,每個人看到都有不同感受。這些人物沒有樣貌,可以讓讀者更易代入他們的故事。我希望營造作品和讀者交流的過程。」

不少刊物委託洋小漫創作插畫

小漫又說,她曾聽過有人到瑞士蘇黎世旅行時,在一本文學雜誌發現了她的作品,令她非常驚喜。「我沒有預料自己的作品可以去到世界的另外一邊。全職從事藝術這條路註定不容易,但會帶給我很大我滿足感,所以會堅持下去。」