Education Is to Build up Students’ Confidence
An Interview with MLC Master Prof Debao Xu

Text:Senior UM Reporter Sally Liang │ Photo:何杰平、編輯部

Prof Debao Xu, master of the Ma Man Kei and Lo Pak Sam College (MLC), believes that residential college education should focus on the development of the ‘whole person’. Students are encouraged to take responsibility for their education, their behaviour, and their career planning. They are also encouraged to learn more about themselves in a lively, vibrant, peer-inspired community. He says, ‘The purpose of education is to open the students’ minds, help them build up confidence, and foster a lifelong learning habit. Once these goals are accomplished, we can say we have fulfilled the mission of education.’

Prof Debao Xu, College Master

Rich RC Life

Prof Xu is an internationally renowned scholar in theoretical linguistics, Chinese linguistics, and computer-aided Chinese language learning. He was the chairperson of the East Asian Languages and Literatures Department at Hamilton College and the Leonard C Ferguson Chair Professor (1991-2014). He has over 30 years of teaching and research experience in the United States, including23 years of working experience in first-tier liberal arts institutions. In 2018, he was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award at the Tenth International Conference and Workshops on Technology and Chinese Language Teaching (TCLT), for promoting the application of technology in Chinese language education.

Aware of the importance of well-rounded development, Prof Xu has laid out three core development goals for the students, namely Bi-literacy and Tri-Lingualism, Etiquette and Honesty, and ‘Whole Person’ Development (including self-management and volunteering mechanism). To create a multilingual environment, Prof Xu initiated the language dinner tables in the canteen, where there are an English table, a Mandarin table, and a Cantonese table, giving students the flexibility to choose which language they want to speak during breakfast and lunchtime. In the past academic year, the college organized over 400 activities, formed18 interest groups, and established five sports teams, which have greatly enriched student life in the college. Prof Xu says: ‘We expect students to achieve well-rounded development by participating in various activities and immersing themselves in the multilingual environment. Hopefully this will help students develop positive personality traits and become a useful member of society.’

“I hope the students achieve well-rounded development and cultivate healthy personality traits”‘

Systems Conducive to Whole-person Development

Based on his experience working in the US, Prof Xu proposed the MLC Etiquette Code of Conduct within the college, which is in line with the ‘whole person development’ education philosophy of UM. The college also implements a self-management system, a volunteering system, a hygiene self-check system, and a student-centred education system. The college also encourages students to actively participate in social activities and international social service programmes. ‘These are good ways for students to repay society, to help those in need, and to find meaning in life,’ says the master.

Prof Xu hopes the students achieve well-rounded development, cultivate healthy personality traits, excel in their studies, and become competent members of society upon graduation.

教育就是要開發學生的信心
專訪馬萬祺羅柏心書院院長

文:校園記者夏梓基 │ 圖:何杰平、編輯部

馬萬祺羅柏心書院院長許德寶教授著重學生的全人發展,鼓勵學生為自己的學業、行為和事業發展負責,讓學生在生動活潑、同儕啟導的學術和生活環境中努力認識自己、發現自己,得到昇華。他強調「教育就是要開發學生的心智,讓學生建立信心,養成終生學習的習慣。做到了這些,教育也就結束了。」

許德寶教授 書院院長

豐富多元的書院生活

許德寶院長是理論語言學、中國語言學以及計算機輔助語言學習領域的知名學者。曾任美國漢密爾頓大學東亞語言文學系主任和倫納德C.弗格森講座教授(1991-2014)。在美國教學和研究30年,其中包括23年一級博雅學院的教學經驗。同時長期致力將新技術應用在中文教學領域的創新工作,於2018年獲“國際漢語電腦教學終生成就獎”。

許院長深知全人發展對學生未來的重要性,因此制定了書院三個核心發展目標:兩文三語、禮儀誠信、全人發展(包括學生自我管理和義工制)。為了打造兩文三語的語言環境,許院長在書院建立了英語飯堂、普通話桌和廣東話桌,學生在早午晚的用餐時段可使用不同語言交流和學習。許院長強調全面教育而不是偏科教育,因此投放大量資源在院生身上,每天都有不同形式的學術活動和社會活動。在上學年,書院共舉辦了400多項活動,建立了18個興趣小組和5個院隊,大大豐富了學生的學習和生活。

「希望同學在書院得到全人發展,塑造健全的人格。」

系統化制度促全人發展

許院長借鑒國外經驗,在書院倡導「禮儀誠信準則」以貫徹澳大「全人發展」的教育,塑造學生健全的人格。同時實行學生自我管理制度和義工制、自我衛生檢查制度、學生為中心的教育活動等。許院長說:「我們也鼓勵學生積極參與社會活動,以及參與跨國度社會服務活動,使同學能做到回饋社會,幫助有需要的人,使自己的生命更有意義。」許院長希望同學在書院得到全人發展,塑造健全的人格,「成為一名優秀的學生,對社會有貢獻的人才。」