Prof Wang San Ming: A Cancer Expert Who Plays the Violin and Cello

Text:Senior UM Reporter Sally Liang │ Photo:Ella Cheong, Jack Ho, with some provided by the interviewee  │  ISSUE92 October 2019 MyUM

Prof Wang San Ming from the Faculty of Health Sciences is a cancer researcher and a violin player. Growing up with a mother who loved violin, Wang started playing the instrument at a young age. When he picked up her mother’s violin and fiddled with it for the first time, he never thought a frivolous childhood pastime would develop into a lifelong passion.

Music Inspires Research Ideas

Prof Wang studies the role of genetic factors in cancer development from the perspectives of medical genetics, genomics, and bioinformatics, in order to develop strategies for preventing cancer caused by gene mutations. When he gets tired from work, he likes to listen to music on his computer, which is equipped with a high-quality stereo. He says, ‘Science is like a boundless ocean. It is rational and practical and closely linked to the real world, whereas music takes me to a different world that is not subject to the constrains of reality. It can even inspire new research ideas. As a researcher, I need to use my right brain once in a while to prevent a “researcher’s block”.’

For Prof Wang, music is one way of preventing a‘researcher’s block’, and walking is another. When he gets stuck in a research project, he likes to take a walk around the campus, on the streets, or even in the suburbs. ‘I seldom take a bus when I go out. I love walking. I probably have covered every inch of the city with my feet, he says.

Prof Wang tours the city of Macao on his bike

A Gift that Enriches Life

By the time he was in middle school, Wang was already able to play the violin skillfully. At the time, China had not opened its door to the world, so Wang had to satisfy his hunger for music with the so-called ‘eight model plays’, the only operas and ballets that were permitted in China at the time. He jokes that he practiced those tunes so often he felt he could play them on his violin blindfolded. When he was studying for a medical degree in college, China began to open up to the world, and as a result, Chinese people had the opportunity to listen to Western music for the first time in their lives.

And for Prof Wang, that experience was nothing short of mind-blowing. When he was in his freshman year, one of his classmates brought a phonograph to college. That was the first time Wang had listened to Swan Lake, and he was immediately hooked. ‘I remember thinking: Oh my God! The music is out of this world! Especially that violin part, it is simply amazing, says Prof Wang, barely able to contain his excitement even though that episode happened a long time ago. That day, he listened to Swan Lake at least 20 times, and afterwards tried to play the violin part. Later, he was invited by his university to give a violin performance of Swan Lake, to which he readily agreed. That performance earned him thunderous applause and the heart of a young woman who was to become his wife. When asked what music means to him, he says without a second’s hesitation: ‘It is a gift that enriches my life.’

Prof Wang Sanming says music inspires research ideas.

A Doctor-turned Researcher

Originally, Wang trained to become a doctor. But he changed his mind after his firsthand experiences with cancer patients during his internship in the university’s hospital. In 1989, he began his PhD studies at the Swiss Institute for Experimental Cancer Research (ISREC in its Swiss acronym) and received his PhD degree in 1994. What made him decide to reinvent himself as a researcher? He says, ‘There are many rules and regulations that prevent medical doctors from trying new therapies or inventing new drugs at will. But there are no such restrictions for researchers. In fact, it’s the researcher’s job to come up with new ideas, no matter how silly or far-fetched those ideas may sound. And at the end of the day, it’s the breakthroughs in research that lead to better drugs and new therapies.’

The Definition of Good Music

When studying in Switzerland, Wang had the opportunity to listen to Western classical music to his heart’s content. For instance, he listened to Dvořák’s music so frequently that he could hum along to the melody without missing a beat. Once, when he was doing an experiment in the laboratory, his Swiss colleague heard him humming Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No 1 and asked in surprise how he knew classical music, to which Wang replied: ‘Why can’t I know classical music?’

Lured by the mellow, sonorous sound of the cello, Prof Wang began to teach himself to play this new instrument a year ago. Soon, he was confident enough to play in the residential colleges at UM. While he agrees that skills are important in playing musical instruments, he believes the ability to strike a chord with the audience is even more important. ‘Different people like different kinds of music. Good music is the kind of music that resonates with you,’says Prof Wang. ‘In the classical Chinese novel Dream of the Red Chamber, Lin Daiyu wouldn’t play the Chinese zither without changing into the right clothes and burning the right incense, because she needed to create the right vibe in order to convey the right mood of the music. It’s the same for me. I never touch my violin or cello if I don’t feel I am in the right mood.’

Prof Wang Sanming and his research team

Music of the Night

A professor and a researcher, Prof Wang has a busy schedule. At the end of the day, he likes to lose himself in the world of music. ‘Composers are so great!’ he says, showing us his hands covered with callouses from playing the violin.

Prof Wang says that music is a gift that enriches his life. It keeps him young at heart and helps him unwind so he can go back to his work with a fresh mind. While music heals his exhaustion from a busy day, he hopes his research will produce results that eventually heal cancer patients. ‘That would be the best gift I could give back to society. If that happens, that would truly be music to my ears,’says Prof Wang with a grin.

王山鳴教授:拉提琴的癌症研究專家

文:資深校園記者梁馨元 │ 圖:張愛華、何杰平、部分由受訪者提供 │  第92期 十月號 澳大人

健康科學學院王山鳴教授靈巧的雙手可以從事癌症研究,同時又可以拉出優美的琴聲。王教授的母親是小提琴愛好者,所以他從小受到音樂的薰陶,他回憶道:「小時候沒事就撥弄家中媽媽的那把琴。沒想到這一撥,就是幾十年。」

音樂激發研究創意

王教授研究的方向為運用醫學遺傳學、基因組學和生物信息學的方法理解遺傳因素在癌症發生上的作用,從而發展在群體層面預防遺傳突變所致癌症的策略。王教授辦公室的電腦裝有一部高音質音響用來播放音樂,「科學是一個沒完沒了的東西,它跟現實社會直接掛鉤,理性而現實。而音樂讓我走入另外一個世界,不受任何理性環境的限制,甚至可激發我的研究創意。我們做研究工作的,一個勁的只使用左腦的話,腦袋會塞住的,哈哈。」性格爽快的王教授幽默地說。

在科研上有甚麼事情想不通,王教授就會到校園或澳門老街上或山野裡溜一圈,「我出門很少乘巴士,喜歡徒步,差不多整個澳門都給我走遍了!」

王山鳴教授騎單車遊澳門

充實人生意義的禮物

從中學起,王山鳴教授便能熟練的拉奏小提琴,當時內地仍未開放,他能接觸到的音樂作品少之又少,但又按捺不住內心想拉琴的躁動的心。結果,當年每齣「樣板戲」的曲子他都能倒背如流。他到大學攻讀醫學專業時,正值內地開始改革開放,大量西洋音樂曲目開始引進來,從此為他打開了新世界的音樂大門。

「大一那年,我同學拿來一個老式留聲機放音樂,還是用黑膠唱片。那是我第一次聽到《天鵝湖》。噢,我的天!世界上竟然有這麼好聽的音樂!尤其是小提琴獨奏的那一段,太捧了。」雖然時隔多年,王教授回憶那時情境,仍然心情激動,「我那天起碼聽了20遍這首曲,腦袋如茅塞頓開。聽完之後馬上學拉那段曲,後來還被大學邀請公開演奏,結果拉出了個老婆,哈哈。」王教授笑著說。音樂對這位科學家來說意味甚麼?他不假思索地說:「是充實我人生意義的禮物。」

王山鳴教授說,音樂有助激發他的研究創意。

不做醫生轉走科研路

大學醫院臨床實習期間,王教授接觸了很多癌症病人,自此便立志要以研究人員的角色來解除病人痛苦,為社會做貢獻。1989年,他到瑞士實驗癌症研究所(ISREC)深造癌症研究,1994年獲醫學博士學位,從事癌症研究至今。是甚麼原因讓這位醫生作出改變呢?「臨床有很多規定,醫生不能任意發揮新的療法或者發明新藥。但科研人員不是,科研人員的想法越稀奇古怪越好,醫學界是否能有更好的新藥,或新的診斷方法,還是要看科研的進步。」

甚麼才是好音樂?

在瑞士深造期間,王教授接觸了更多古典音樂,比如德沃夏克的作品都聽得爛熟了,他說:「有一次做實驗時,我瑞士的同事突然發現我在哼柴可夫斯基的第一交響曲,他覺得很奇怪,你怎麼會懂這些?我反過來問我為甚麼不可以懂這個呢?」被大提琴獨有的深沉音色所吸引,一年前王教授開始自學大提琴,學了不久,已夠大膽到書院表演,不減當年的勇氣。儘管演奏技巧很重要,他認為演奏音樂最重要是有感情和共鳴,「每個人所喜愛的音樂都不一樣,但只要能與感情產生共鳴的音樂,就是好音樂。」感情共鳴是王教授演奏時最著重的地方,「林黛玉彈古琴需換衣燒香營造意境,才能彈出感情。我也如此,要是沒有情緒,就不要去碰那個樂曲。」

王山鳴教授與他的研究生團隊

為自己拉奏一曲

每天教研工作繁重的他,常常在夜深人靜時來為自己拉上一曲,常常會被自己拉的曲所深深感動,「作曲家們真偉大!」說到這裡,王教授伸出那雙因拉琴而長出了老繭的手給記者看,這些也是他與音樂同行多年的烙印。

王教授給人感覺像一個老頑童,音樂讓他永遠有夥年輕求進的心,這也助力他在研究路上可以好奇地去探索,實現他最初以研究服務社會,讓病人受惠的初心。