A Beer Brand Originated from a Residential College
Beer Brewer and UM Alumnus Lucas Lio

Chinese & English: Ella Cheong & Senior UM Reporter Charlotte Lin  │ Photo: Ella Cheong, with some provided by the interviewee │  ISSUE 113 April My UM

Lucas Lio, a beer brewer and an alumnus of University of Macau(UM), started his beer brewing business inside a kitchen at his residential college seven years ago. After going through a journey marked by youth, sweat, innovation, passion, friendship and human kindness, Lio today owns an established business with proper production facilities inside an industrial building. Let’s find out more about his story.

College as Incubation Centre

Known as ‘Fei Kei’ (‘Aeroplane’ in Cantonese) among his teachers and friends, Lio is a person who prefers actions to words. However, if the topic of conversation revolves around brewing, he is more than happy to share his views. His entrepreneurial story began in 2014, when he was admitted to the Department of Chinese Language and Literature at UM and became a member of the university’s Cheng Yu Tung College (CYTC).

When Lio was a second-year student, Dr Tang Yu Ming, a resident fellow at CYTC, discovered the student’s strong interest in beer history, culture, and brewing techniques. Through Dr Tang’s introduction, Lio began learning brewing from a craft brewer in Hong Kong, which further sparked his passion for the craft. In view of this, William Lee, then associate master of CYTC, allowed Lio to use the kitchen of his room to experiment with making different kinds of beer. ‘We brewed hundreds of beer samples at the college, which served as an incubation centre for our brewing business in the early days,’ says Lio.

As a young entrepreneur who started his business in college, Lio has many unique business ideas and often says he is not an office job person. Dr Tang, who is not only Lio’s mentor, but also his friend and business partner, says: ‘Lio’s success is not only a result of his interest in craft beer, but also his persistence. He always gets back up after falling and is not afraid of failure. This quality is very important for those who want to succeed in the business world.’

Dr Tang Yu Ming (left) and Lucas Lio’s team in an entrepreneurial competition

Meeting Like-Minded Partners

At CYTC, Lio met a group of like-minded friends who would become his business partners, including Crystal Kuok and Alison Tam. ‘The college was very supportive of entrepreneurship and always encouraged us to join competitions,’ says Lio. ‘In our fourth year, we joined a business incubation programme at UM’s Centre for Innovation and Entrepreneurship, hoping to turn our ideas into businesses.’ Later on, the trio founded 2048 Brewery (the former name of Lio’s company) with seed capital of $30,000. They rented a production facility in Hong Kong to make beer in small batches. On weekends, they would sell their beer from a wooden cart at the Hong Kung Night Market. ‘We all worked very hard. Even in bad weather, we would go to the night market to sell beer, hoping to promote our Macao craft beer brand,’ says Lio.

Lucas Lio and his partners Crystal Kuok and Alison Tam sell their beer on a wooden cart

Brand Philosophy

The three partners in this local beer brand have different responsibilities: Kuok and Tam are responsible for business operation and marketing, while Lio is in charge of developing and refining beer flavours. ‘Craft beer is made with only four basic ingredients: water, hops, barley, and yeast. The temperature, fermentation time, and the quality of barley and hops must be carefully controlled during the production process,’ says Lio, who believes that the artisanal product embodies the creativity of its brewer and a good craft beer brand can convey the culture of a city. ‘Macao is a city where Chinese and Western cultures meet, so I want to incorporate cultural concepts into our beer. For example, we mix tea from the East with beer from the West to create a rich flavour in our products,’ says Lio.

In 2020, the entrepreneurial team’s beer stall at the night market had to close because of the epidemic and Lio and his partners had to come up with a new way to sell their beer. Fortunately, a friend allowed them to rent his cafe at night, which propelled them to set up a new shop named Funny Eye Space and change their brand name to Funny Eye Brewing. ‘Having fun in meeting interesting people, drinking interesting beer and doing interesting things, that’s our philosophy,’ says Lio.

The six tea-flavoured beers produced by Funny Eye Brewing

Raising MOP 3 Million to Start a Brewery

Lio’s beer production line in Hong Kong was also affected by the epidemic and had to reduce its volume of production. As the epidemic progressed, the cross-border transport between Hong Kong and Macao eventually came to a halt. Unable to travel to Hong Kong to develop new types of beer, Lio began to think about setting up his own brewery in Macao.

Although the idea was conceived in an unfavourable economic climate, with the help of his business partners and friends Lio managed to raise MOP 3 million and officially launched his new brewery in an industrial building in Areia Preta in April 2021. As the first craft brewery in Macao, the facility can produce up to 100,000 bottles of beer per month, which are then sold at distribution outlets around the city. ‘Macao is a small town, so craft beer is a good business to be in as it doesn’t require a lot of space or support,’ says Lio. ‘Young people should have the courage to pursue their dreams, even if all they can rely on is a wooden cart. If we don’t give it try, how can we know if our plan will succeed or not?’

Improving Craft Beer Quality via Industry-Academia Collaboration

According to Lio, when the team first started their business, they received support not only from their residential college, but also from the Faculty of Health Sciences (FHS), which used its research capacity and strength in industry-academic collaboration to enhance their products. As Lio recalls, once he had completed a set of beer samples in the kitchen at his college, he would take it to the laboratory of Tam Kin Yip, associate professor in FHS and college fellow at CYTC, for chemical analysis. With the help of Prof Tam, Lio managed to isolate and extract elements that would give his beer a stronger tea flavour. Prof Tam also used chemical methods to reduce the purines in his beer to make the product healthier. Their collaboration continues to this day.

FHS Associate Professor Tam Kin Yip (left) uses his lab to conduct chemical analyses on Lucas Lio’s beer samples

ʻTea-flavoured beer is our first signature product. Growing up in Macao, we all know how much people enjoy tea. So I decided to infuse flavours like tieguanyin, chrysanthemum pu’er, jasmine, and rose into our beer,’ says Lio. In addition to flavours from tea, Lio has also successfully infused the taste of passion fruit, lychee, and coffee into his products. ‘Our customers are very demanding so we always develop new beer flavours based on their preferences and suggestions,’ he says.

Lucas Lio plans to work with CYTC Interim Master Wong Seng Fat (right) to launch a flower tea as a gift to his college

Lio’s business would not take off without the support of his residential college. To thank his college, Lio is planning to work with Prof Wong Seng Fat, interim master of CYTC, to produce a Da Hong Pao flower tea as a memorable product. ‘Students with entrepreneurial ideas in residential colleges can take advantage of means of industry-academia collaboration within the university to gain access to entrepreneurial and scientific support,’ says Prof Wong. ‘Lio made a lot of efforts to integrate tea culture and beer, and this has laid a strong foundation for his unique business model.’

Looking ahead, Lio hopes to expand his business to mainland China by setting up outlets in other parts of the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area, once his company has gained a foothold in the Macao market.

從書院走出來的啤酒品牌
釀酒師廖俊輝校友

文:張愛華、資深校園記者林霞遠  │ 圖:張愛華,部分由受訪者提供 │  第113期 四月號 澳大人

由書院廚房跳進一間工廈廠房,廖俊輝七年來的創業歷程,是一個充滿青春與汗水、創新與激情、友情與人情交織的故事。

 

書院=孵化中心

所有師友稱他為「飛機」的廖俊輝,是那種只幹實事,不喜侃侃而談的人,但每觸及釀酒之事,他都會跟你聊個不停。我們的談話由他2014年考入澳門大學中國語言文學系,住進鄭裕彤書院說起。

在大二時,書院導師鄧宇明博士見廖俊輝愛喝啤酒,又對啤酒的歷史、文化和釀酒技術深感興趣,於是介紹他跟香港一名手工啤酒釀酒師學習釀酒。接觸手工釀酒技術後,廖俊輝對釀酒的熱情一發不可收拾。時任鄭裕彤書院副院長李偉權特別騰空其房間的小廚房,給他嘗試做出各種味道的啤酒,廖俊輝說:「我們在書院前前後後釀製了幾百個啤酒樣品,書院可以說是我們釀酒廠最初期的孵化中心。」

在大學已嘗試創業的廖俊輝,滿腦子都是古靈精怪的想法,更常說自己是不能久坐辦公室的人。與他亦師亦友,又是合作夥伴的鄧宇明博士認為:「飛機的成功不僅源於他對精釀啤酒的興趣,更離不開他不服輸的精神,他是那種可以不斷跌倒再爬起來的人,從不害怕失敗,這是十分可貴的性格特質。」

這些年來,鄧宇明博士 (左)經常帶著廖俊輝的團隊參加創業比賽,汲取經驗。

結識志同道合夥伴

在書院,廖俊輝認識了一班志同道合的創業夥伴,包括他現時的拍檔——郭芷晴和譚凱盈。「書院創業氣氛濃厚,我們在書院支持下經常參加創業比賽,還在大四時參與澳大創新創業中心的創業孵化計劃,將我們的創意轉化成事業。」他們三人最初合資三萬元成立2048啤酒廠(公司前稱),在香港租借生產線少量生產,每週末拉著木頭車去康公夜市擺攤,「我們都很拼搏,打風下雨也堅持去做,希望讓坊間認識澳門本土的手工啤酒。」

廖俊輝與拍檔郭芷晴和譚凱盈拉木頭車去賣啤酒

品牌的理念

三位拍檔各有分工,郭芷晴和譚凱盈負責營運和市場推廣,而廖俊輝主力研發和改良啤酒口味。他說:「手工啤酒只用水、啤酒花、大麥、酵母四種最傳統的原料生產,每個環節,例如對溫度、大麥和啤酒花的發酵時間和品質監控都非常嚴謹。」對釀酒師來說,手工製品不僅體現到創意,淡淡的啤酒香甚至可以傳遞一個城市的文化。廖俊輝說:「澳門是中西方文化交匯之地,我希望啤酒也可體現更多文化元素,於是我在源於西方的啤酒加入富有東方特色的茶,使它的味道更豐富。」

2020年,康公夜市的擺攤日子因疫情而被迫結束,廖俊輝與拍擋苦思如何繼續推銷手工啤酒,恰巧一位朋友願意向他們分租咖啡店的晚上時段,於是就有了趣眼空間的誕生。他們將啤酒品牌取名「趣眼精釀」,廖俊輝笑說:「遇有趣的人,喝有趣的酒,做有趣的事,這就是我們的理念。」

「趣眼精釀」研發的六款茶味啤酒

集資三百萬創立釀酒廠

受疫情持續影響,啤酒在香港生產線的產量減少,加上港澳交通受阻,廖俊輝無法赴香港研發新口味,便萌生在澳門設廠的想法。

廖俊輝這一想法可謂逆市而上,但在眾多友情和人情支持下,他和拍擋排除萬難,成功集資三百萬澳門元,2021年4月在黑沙環一間工廈開設趣眼釀酒廠,成為澳門首家手工啤酒廠。他們在全澳有多個分銷點,目前最高月產十萬瓶。「澳門面積小,做手工啤酒其實是最適合的,因為它所需的地方和條件都不太多。我覺得趁年輕甚麼都要試下,就好像當年拉著木頭車去擺攤一樣,不試過又怎知會否成功?」

利用產學研優勢提高手工啤酒品質

廖俊輝說,他們創業時不僅得到書院導師支援,更從學院獲得科研方面的幫助,發揮產學研優勢,提高產品質素。在書院做好啤酒樣品後,他會拿著啤酒樣品去到鄭裕彤書院非駐院導師、健康科學學院副教授譚建業的實驗室做化學分析實驗。譚教授通過分離、萃取等方法調試出茶味更濃的啤酒,並且通過化學方法降低啤酒中的嘌呤,令產品更健康。他們之間的合作持續至今。

譚建業教授(左)的實驗室為廖俊輝釀製的啤酒做化學分析

「茶味啤酒是我們第一個系列。我們在澳門長大,大家都很愛喝茶,我就想能不能將兩者結合,做出有鐵觀音、菊花普洱、茉莉花茶、玫瑰花茶等味道的啤酒。」廖俊輝還研發了百香果氣泡、荔枝紅茶、咖啡等口味的產品,「我們顧客的要求很高,啤酒口味都是經他們千錘百煉和挑剔而誕生。」

廖俊輝計劃與鄭裕彤書院代院長黃承發教授(右)合作推出一款花茶回饋書院的栽培

廖俊輝一直對書院培育深懷感恩之情,正計劃與鄭裕彤書院代院長黃承發教授合作,研發一款有書院特色的大紅袍花茶回饋書院。黃教授說:「院生在書院、甚至大學裡展開一些產學研專案有獨特的優勢,可以獲得創業和研究力量的支援。飛機用心考究如何將茶文化與啤酒相互調和,正因如此創立了他們獨特的文化產業。」

廖俊輝希望他的啤酒品牌立足澳門市場後,下一階段將銷售點擴展到粵港澳大灣區其它地方,逐步打入內地市場。