Stories in the Money Pouches

Text & Photo:Ella Cheong │  ISSUE 79  May 2018  My UM

Everyone has a wallet or a purse. What do you usually carry in it besides money and bank cards? In this issue, we interviewed several UM community members, who shared with us the stories in their money pouches.

 

A Yellowing Ace of Hearts Card

To this day, Prof Yuen Ka-Veng, UM registrar, interim dean of the Faculty of Science and Technology, and an expert in structural engineering, still keeps a yellowing Ace of Hearts poker card in his wallet. He bought the card in 1992, in Moscow, where he participated in an international math competition as a high school student. He visited the local flea market with his classmates, and stumbled upon this set of cards, with beautiful patterns which immediately caught his eye. ‘The letter “T” on the card means “Ace”, which makes it very unique,’ says Prof Yuen. ‘Ace of Hearts is usually considered to bring good luck. So I decided to keep it in my wallet as an amulet. And before I know it, it’s already been in my wallet for 26 years.’

The Ace of Hearts card in Prof Yuen’s wallet

This ordinary-looking poker card has witnessed the various milestones in Prof Yuen’s life as well as the love story between him and his wife. After graduation from college, Yuen went to Hong Kong to study for a master’s degree. When he graduated from the programme, he decided to travel to the United States to pursue a PhD degree, so he wanted to leave this Ace of Hearts card with his then girlfriend (and now wife). But his girlfriend said to him, ‘You need luck more than I do, so keep it.’ Over the years, Prof Yuen’s life has been quite smooth. Could his smooth life experiences really be attributable to the good luck brought by this card? Had he not bought this poker card, would his life be different today? Yuen replies with a laugh, ‘Yes, my life has been quite smooth over the years, but does it have to do with the poker card? I don’ t know. As the old Chinese saying goes, if you believe it, then it is true for you.’

Yu Hui Ju

‘If it’s not there, I would miss it a little bit.’

Yu Hui Ju from Taiwan is a first-year student in the Faculty of Business Administration. She keeps an amulet and a photo in her purse. Every year , her father would visit a Buddhist temple before the Chinese New Year to pray for peace and safety and obtain amulets for everyone in the family. During the Chinese New Year, they would burn the amulets from the previous year , a ritual that signifies that all the bad things from the previous year are also destroyed in the fire. After that, her father would make sure that all family members put the new amulets in their money pouches.

The amulet and photo in Yu Hui Ju’s purse

Yu started this habit of putting a new amulet in her purse every year in middle school. ‘This has become a habit to me. I often think of it, and if it’s not there, I would miss it a little bit,’ she says. Another fixture in her purse is a photo of her with one of her high school classmates. Asked why she doesn’t keep a photo with her parents in the purse instead, she says, ‘Because I never had any instant photos with my parents. This one is an instant photo, so I put it in the purse after we took the photo. And it has stayed with me to this day , even though I have changed my purse several times.’

Always Be Ready to Help Those in Need

Prof Chen Xin from the Institute of Chinese Medical Sciences is an expert on immunology and Chinese medicine. He keeps in his wallet a CPR certificate issued by the American Heart Association and an accompanying instruction card. While in the United States, he obtained the license as an acupuncturist in Maryland. Before joining UM, he worked for a long time as a researcher in the National Cancer Institute in the US.

The CPR certificate in Prof Chen Xin’s wallet 

He explains that CPR training is very prevalent in the US. For instance, the State of Maryland has a law that requires all high school graduates to receive CPR training. Medical workers in Maryland are required to complete CPR training and obtain certification. The National Cancer Institute also encourages staf f to receive CPR training. In the US, many people carry the CPR certificate with them so they can perform CPR in case they encounter someone experiencing cardiac arrest.

 

Once, while travelling on an airplane, the captain notified the passengers through the public address system that one passenger was in desperate need of first aid. Before Chen could show his CPR certificate, another passenger who had also received CPR training offered to help the person. Prof Chan has kept this certificate in his wallet for several years now . He carries it wherever he goes, because he likes to always be ready to help those in need. Although he hasn’t yet had any chance to use this life-saving skill, he takes comfort in the fact that another thing he always keeps in his wallet—a sticking plaster—has helped people twice.

Fate brought us together

Brenda Lo, a staff member from the Facility Operations and Maintenance Section, graduated from UM’s Department of Communication in 2006. She has sponsored underprivileged African children since she graduated. ‘He was randomly selected to be my sponsored child,’ she says, pointing at the boy in the picture she keeps in her purse. ‘I didn’ t specify the sex of the child I wanted to sponsor , as it didn’t matter to me. All these years, I’ve always felt that fate brought us together.’

Brenda Lo

Every year, the boy sends a picture of himself to Lo, which she keeps in the purse, until it is replaced by a new picture the next year. The boy, who was only six years old when Lo started sponsoring him, is now 18. This year, Lo received a letter from the young man, telling her not to sponsor him anymore, because he is now old enough to take care of himself. ‘I feel so happy for him,’ she says. Over the 12 years of sponsoring African children, Lo has learned to be grateful for the blessings in her own life. ‘I feel very blessed that I live in a city like Macao. If I can manage, I hope to help more people in the future,’ she says. ‘I’m thinking about sponsoring children from other places, maybe those from Southeast Asian countries, because then I will be able to visit them instead of just writing letters with them.’

The picture of the sponsored boy in Brenda Lo’s purse

Digital Miner

Dr Tang Yu Ming a resident fellow of Cheng Yu Tung College, keeps in his wallet a card with the words ‘Digital Miner’ written on the front and his name and drawing on the back. This card belongs to a set of math-learning cards designed by Dr Tang and a group of student volunteers from the college. Dr Tang and his students often need to provide volunteer teaching in primary schools outside of Macao, so he always wanted to develop a fun way to teach math to primary school students. Last year, they started to study mathoriented teaching materials from Macao and neighouring regions, which led them to design this set of mathlearning cards. Dr Tang explains that they designed four sets of cards, each with their own rules, to help primary school students in the first three grades to develop number sense and learn the four arithmetic operations.

The math-learning card in Dr Tang Yu Ming’s wallet

Members of the team who had a part in designing the cards each randomly took one card from the first Digital Miner set and put it in their wallet for commemorative purposes. ‘I find it especially meaningful, so I always keep it in my wallet. This way, I can take it out any time I want to promote our math-learning cards,’ says Dr Tang. According to Tang, for students to become fluent at the four arithmetic operations, they need to complete about 10,000 exercises, but many students get bored at the 3,000 or 4,000 mark, some even get to the point of hating or fearing maths. This game designed by Dr Tang’s team provides a fun way for students to finish the 10,000 exercises without even realising it. Confident that this card game not only will not wear out the students’ patience for learning, but could even ignite their interest in math, Dr Tang plans to promote it in Macao.’We have already started contacting associations and some teaching centres in Macao. Hopefully we can arrange for local primary school students to learn how to play the cards this summer ,’ he says.

錢包告訴你的故事

文、圖:張愛華 │  第79期  五月號  澳大人

每個人都有錢包,每個人的錢包也是獨一無二。你的錢包裡會放些甚麼呢?今期,我們訪問了幾位澳大人,聽聽他們錢包的故事。當打開他們的錢包後,發現裡面都各自埋藏了一段段跟生命有關的感人故事……

 

泛黃的紅心A

教務長兼科技學院代院長阮家榮教授的錢包裡放著一張已泛黃的紅心A啤牌,這啤牌是他在1992年讀中五時到莫斯科參加數學比賽期間所買,“我是在跳蚤市場見到這副啤牌,圖案很美。牌上寫的T等於澳門啤牌的A,非常特別。紅心A一直都有帶來好運的意思,於是就把它放在錢包裡,不經不覺已有26年了。”

阮家榮教授錢包裡的紅心A

大學畢業後,阮家榮到香港讀碩士,畢業時,他因為要到美國繼續深造博士學位,想把這紅心A啤牌轉贈給當時的女朋友(現時的太太),“她當時對我說,你需要運氣多些,你更需要它!”一張紙牌背後原來除了有這位結構力學專家的人生奮鬥經歷,也有著一段他與太太之間的深情故事。若果當年沒有遇到這牌,命運會否不一樣?阮家榮哈哈大笑著說:“這些年來,我的人生算暢順,但是否跟這啤牌有關,我也不知道。總之一句,信則有,不信則無。”

游惠如

若它不在,會有一點點的掛念

來自台灣的工商管理學院一年級學生游惠如的錢包裡則埋藏了一段父女情、一段同窗情。“我父親每年都會到佛廟裡為家人求平安符,過年時我們會把去年的平安符燒掉,寓意把過去不好的東西跟火一併燒掉,然後再換上新的平安符。父親一定要我們放在錢包裡, 說會保祐平安。”

游惠如錢包裡的平安符和照片

游惠如由初中開始把父親的平安符放在錢包裡,“這已成為一種習慣,我時不時會想到它,若它不在,會有一點點的掛念。”在她的錢包裡,還有一張跟高中同學的合照,怎麼不放跟父母的合照?“因為沒有跟父母拍過即影即有的照片呀,跟同學拍的這張即影即有照片,拍完後就一直接放在錢包裡,到現在,無論換了多少個錢包,也一直放著。”

隨時幫助有需要的人

中華醫藥研究院免疫學及中醫學專家陳新教授的錢包放著一張由美國心臟協會頒發的心肺復蘇急救證書卡,以及一張附隨的操作說明卡。陳教授擁有美國馬里蘭州執業針灸醫師資格,來澳大前在美國國家腫瘤研究所長期從事研究工作,他說:“在美國,心肺復蘇急救訓練非常普及。比如馬里蘭州有一個法案,要求所有高中畢業生必須接受心肺復蘇急救培訓。在馬里蘭州工作的醫護人員更要求必須接受心肺復蘇培訓並獲得證書,國家腫瘤研究所也鼓勵每位工作人員接受這方面的訓練。在美國,很多人都隨身帶心肺復蘇證書卡,萬一碰到有人心臟驟停時,可以出示卡片並馬上進行心肺復蘇急救。”

陳新教授錢包裡的心肺復蘇急救證明卡 

“有一次在飛機上,機長廣播說需要醫生幫助一位乘客進行急救,同機剛巧有另一人接受過心肺復蘇的訓練,在我向乘務人員出示證書卡前,成功地幫助了那位病人”。這張卡放在陳教授的錢包裡已有數年,他慶幸至今還沒有別人需要他實施心肺復蘇急救術。他認為這卡的重要意義在於可以“隨時幫助有需要的人,所以多年來一直帶著。”此外,他的錢包裡還有一張創可貼,倒是有兩次幫助到有需要的人。

存在著一種緣份

設施管理及維護處職員Brenda Lo 2006年澳大傳播系畢業出來工作後,便開始助養非洲兒童,“他是被隨機挑選成為我的助養兒童,我當時沒有刻意去挑選男或女,這麼多年來,我總覺得我們之間存在著一種緣份。”

Brenda Lo

由第一年開始,男孩每年都會寄一張照片給Brenda,她便將照片放在錢包裡, 一年更新一次。“我助養他時才6歲,今年已18歲了。我今年收到他的信,叫我不用再助養他了,因為已長大而且有能力去照顧自己,我知道後很為他感到高興。”12年來,Brenda從助養中學會了感恩,“能夠生活在澳門,我覺得很幸福,自己若有能力應該幫助更多的人。我會繼續助養其他地區的小孩,可能選擇近澳門的東南亞國家,可以去探訪他們,不再只局限於書信來往。”

Brenda錢包裡的助養男孩照片

Digital Miner

鄭裕彤書院導師鄧宇明博士錢包裡有一張紙牌,正面寫著Digital Miner,背面有鄧博士的名字和自畫的圖案。這款紙牌是鄧博士跟書院的學生義工設計的四款數學桌遊的其中一款,他說:“由於我們經常要到其他地方的小學義教,因此一直構想如何用有趣的方法來教小學生數學。我們去年開始研究了很多澳門和鄰近地區的數學教材,並開始設計這套遊戲紙牌的故事和玩法。”鄧博士表示,這套數學桌遊專門教小學一至三年級學生的數感和四則運算的桌遊,每款紙牌都有不同的趣味玩法。

鄧宇明博士錢包裡的桌遊卡紙牌 

“我們每人從第一套Digital Miner這款遊戲卡裡抽出一張紙牌放在錢包裡留念,因此特別有意義,而且放在錢包裡,也可以隨時拿出來宣傳,哈哈。”鄧博士現正計劃把這套數學桌遊帶進澳門社區,“要小學生完全熟悉四則運算大約要做一萬條習題,但很多時候,小朋友做到3、4千題時,便會覺得煩厭,更甚者會因此討厭數學、害怕數學。通過我們的數學桌遊,小朋友可以快樂地不知不覺地完成這一萬題習題,而不會磨滅他們對學習的耐性,更可燃起對數學的興趣!我們已開始聯繫社團和一些教育中心,希望可以在今年暑假安排學生去教。”