New Cohorts of UM Reporters and PRSAs Inaugurated

Text: UM Reporter Amber Gu | Photo: Editorial Board

A group photo

The University of Macau’s (UM) Communications Office (CO) held an online inauguration ceremony for its tenth cohort of UM Reporters and 12th cohort of PR Student Ambassadors (PRSA) on 30 March. During the ceremony, CO awarded certificates to the Top Ten UM Reporters and the Top Ten PR Student Ambassadors. In his speech, UM Vice Rector (Student Affairs) Mok Kai Meng encouraged the students to make the most of every opportunity at UM to reach their full potential.

 

Left: UM Vice Rector (Student Affairs) Mok Kai Meng presents a press passes to the representative of the new cohort of UM Reporters
Right: UM Vice Rector (Student Affairs) Mok Kai Meng present a name badge to the representative of the new cohort of PRSAs

The inauguration ceremony was moved online as a precautionary measure given the latest development of COVID-19. Addressing the ceremony, Prof Mok Kai Meng said that UM implements a ‘4-in-1’ education model, which integrates discipline-specific education, general education, research and internship education, as well as community and peer education. According to him, under this model, students receive community and peer education via their residential colleges and through participating in activities across the university, which will help them build seven competencies, namely responsible citizenship, global competitiveness, knowledge integration, teamwork and collaboration, service and leadership, cultural engagement, and healthy lifestyle. Prof Mok added that the UM Reporter Programme and the PRSA Programme are good examples of community and peer education at UM. ‘I hope you will make the most of every opportunity at UM to reach your full potential, find your aspirations, and develop your skills. We count on you to tell the wonderful stories of UM to friends from all over the world.’ says Prof Mok.

Left: CO Director Katrina Cheong presents a certificate to the representative of Top Ten Outstanding UM Reporters
Right: CO Director Katrina Cheong presents a certificate to the representative of Top Ten Outstanding PR Student Ambassador

At the ceremony, Prof Mok presented to the 75 new UM Reporters and PRSAs their press passes and name badges, which symbolise their responsibility of promoting UM. Katrina Cheong, director of CO, then presented certificates to the Top Ten Outstanding UM Reporters and the Top Ten Outstanding PR Student Ambassadors who have done outstanding work in the past year. During the ceremony, Charlotte Lin, a representative of UM Reporters, and Connie Ren, a representative of PRSA, shared how they have put their knowledge into practice and their growth from different perspectives. A video of the highlights of the two programmes over the years was also played at the ceremony. In another video, several UM alumni who were members of the two programmes shared with the current members what they have learned in the programmes, as well as how the experiences have helped them in their career development.

Left: Senior UM Reporter Charlotte Lin
Right: PRSA Connie Ren

Jasmine He, a newly inaugurated UM Reporter and a first-year student in the Bachelor of Education (Integrated Science) Programme and the Henry Fok Pearl Jubilee College, says that she has gained practical skills in interviewing, writing, and Chinese-English translation, adding that she has also improved her communication and response skills and become more active. Yang Bidan, a newly inaugurated PRSA and a student in the Master of Arts in Communication Programme, says that the programme’s various training sessions and workshops have helped her develop her presentation and organisation skills. She adds that these skills allow her to introduce UM to people of different ages and backgrounds, adding the programme has boosted her sense of belonging to UM.

Left: UM Reporter Jasmine He
Right: PRSA Yang Bidan

The PRSA Programme and the UM Reporter Programme were launched by the CO in 2010 and 2012, respectively. Their members come from various departments and disciplines across the university. Both programmes, with their outstanding results, have gained recognition within UM and the local community. The PRSA Programme aims to develop students’ skills in guest reception, public relations, event organisation, and interpersonal communication. As of today, the programme has provided training for more than 500 student ambassadors, who have guided over 1,700 tours from around the world, with the number of visitors reaching more than 74,000. The UM Reporter programme has trained a total of 360 UM Reporters. With its members divided into groups of writing reporters, photo reporters, video reporters, and short video reporters, the programme aims to provide a platform for students interested in interviewing, writing and multimedia filming to enhance their skills.

新一屆校園記者及學生公關大使就職

文:校園記者顧文晴 | 圖:編輯部

大合照

由澳大傳訊部舉行的第十屆澳門大學校園記者及第十二屆學生公關大使於3月30日舉行線上就職典禮,並頒發「十大傑出校園記者」及「十大傑出學生公關大使」獎狀。澳大副校長(學生事務)莫啓明教授勉勵學生把握大學提供的實踐機會,拓展潛能。

 

左圖:澳大副校長(學生事務)莫啓明教授向校園記者代表頒發記者證
右圖:澳大副校長(學生事務)莫啓明教授向學生公關大使代表頒發名牌

為配合防疫工作,第十屆澳門大學校園記者及第十二屆學生公關大使就職典禮移師線上舉行,莫啓明副校長致辭時表示,澳大推行融合專業、通識、研習和社群教育的「四位一體」教育模式,學生通過基於住宿式書院的社群教育以及參與校內多元化活動,培養公民責任心、全球競爭力、知識整合能力、團隊協作、服務與領導、文化參與及健康生活七大勝任力。澳大校園記者和學生公關大使兩個計劃的培養目標正是社群教育理念的體現。莫啓明副校長勉勵學生好好利用大學提供的實踐機會,定立目標、拓展潛能,並用心盡責做好工作,把澳大的精彩故事弘揚至世界各地。

左圖:澳大傳訊總監張惠琴向學生代表頒發「十大傑出校園記者」奬狀
右圖:澳大傳訊總監張惠琴向學生代表頒發「十大傑出學生公關大使」奬狀

典禮上,莫啓明副校長向新一屆75名澳大校園記者和學生公關大使頒發記者證和名牌,標誌著他們肩負起宣傳大學的使命。澳大傳訊總監張惠琴向過去一年表現突出的學生頒發「十大傑出校園記者」和「十大傑出學生公關大使」獎狀。澳大校園記者代表林霞遠及學生公關大使代表任凝隨後分享如何在計劃中盡展所長和成長。典禮上也播放兩個計劃歷年活動的回顧短片。此外,多名曾參與計劃的校友更拍攝短片,向學弟妹分享在計劃中所學所得如何助其職涯發展。

左圖:澳大資深校園記者林霞遠分享感受
右圖:澳大學生公關大使任凝分享感受

新就職的校園記者何韞睿是教育學士學位(綜合科學)課程一年級、霍英東珍禧書院學生,她表示,參與計劃學習到採訪、寫作和中英翻譯等方面的技巧,並提升了溝通與應變能力,變得積極和更加主動。新就職的學生公關大使楊碧丹就讀文學碩士學位(傳播學)課程,她表示,計劃提供的培訓和工作坊讓她學到許多導賞和活動策劃技巧,也令她得以向不同年齡和背景的訪客介紹澳大,過程中產生了對大學的歸屬感。

左圖:澳大校園記者何韞睿
右圖:澳大學生公關大使楊碧丹

學生公關大使及校園記者計劃由澳大傳訊部分別在2010年及2012年成立,參加的學生來自不同學院和專業,歷年取得卓越成果,並在校內外獲得了良好讚譽。學生公關大使計劃至今培訓了超過500人,通過一系列培訓和實踐,發展學生在接待、公共關係、大型活動策劃和人際關係等方面能力,累計接待逾1,700個導賞團,來自世界各地的訪客逾74,000人次。校園記者計劃歷年共培養了 360 名校園記者。該計劃設文字組、圖片攝影組、攝錄組、微信短視頻組,為有意學習採訪、寫作及多媒體拍攝的學生提供實習平台。