The Online GBA Universities Drama Festival Explores Five Constant Virtues in Confucianism

Text: Debby Seng, UM Reporter Matt Liao │ Photo: Provided by the interviewees

A team of student theatre performers from the University of Macau (UM) and their counterparts in seven universities across the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area (GBA) have presented exciting shows at the first-ever Greater Bay Area Universities Drama Festival. During the event, the students explored traditional Chinese wisdom, promoted arts and culture, and conveyed the core values of the Chinese nation, in celebration of the 40th anniversary of UM and the 5th anniversary of the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao University Alliance.

The Greater Bay Area Universities Drama Festival 2021 kicked off on 5 December 2021 online.

Young People From Across the GBA Pursue Dreams Together

The Drama Society of the UM Students’ Union (UMSU) presented ‘After the Bitter Comes the Sweet’, which was previously on tour in mainland China. It is a story between a father and daughter and explores humanity, the first component of the five constant virtues of Confucianism ‘Humanity, Integrity, Propriety, Wisdom, and Sincerity, which is also UM’s motto.

Anita Seak, a fourth-year student of the UM Faculty of Law and president of the Drama Society, was delighted that the university brought together theatre enthusiasts from several universities to perform online. ‘I’m grateful for the opportunity to explore the UM’s motto on its 40th anniversary. It’s exciting to have students from all over the GBA to pass on Chinese virtues through performance and help Macao’s young people become part of the GBA’s development.’ Seak hopes that the festival will bring together the youth of the GBA in unity and set the course for the new horizon together on stage.

After the Bitter Comes the Sweet, presented by students from the University of Macau

Heroes in the Fight Against Coronavirus

The drama society of Guangdong Foreign Studies University presented ‘Translation in the Time of Pandemic’, a story about university students who volunteer to translate for travellers at Baiyun Airport in Guangzhou during the pandemic. Fu Milu, president of the university’s drama society, says that at every rehearsal, the actors and actresses had to wear face shields, gloves and hazmat suits, which left deep marks on their faces and made them sweat. ‘They come to appreciate the sacrifices and invaluable dedication of frontline health workers,’ says Fu.

According to Fu, the festival not only enhanced exchanges between GBA universities, but also helped the students improve their theatre productions, enabled them to learn from each other, and raised the profile of performing arts in the GBA.

Translation in the time of Pandemic, presented by students from the Guangdong University of Foreign Studies

Wisdom of the Sages

Students from Beijing Normal University, Zhuhai Normal University and the Beijing Normal University’s Zhuhai campus presented ‘The Teacher’, which tells the story of a new language teacher trying to change his students’ rigid writing style. In the show, the teacher hopes to encourage the students to record their lives and express their feelings through writing, but the children are unwilling to do so. Shi Huiying, a student of the university’s drama society, says their play highlights the duty of teachers as advocated by the ancient Chinese writer Han Yu in his piece ‘On Teachers’, hoping to guide the audience into the immortal wisdom of the ancient sages.

The actors encountered many difficulties during their rehearsals, and some of them played two roles, be they children or teachers in their 50s, in the same play, Shi Huiying says. ‘Some actors made breakthroughs playing two characters in the same play. We were also happy to exchange ideas with students from other universities at the festival, where we could learn more about their ideas on theatre and broaden our horizons.’

The Teacher, presented by students from Beijing Normal University, Zhuhai and Beijing Normal University Zhuhai Campus

A Reflection of Integrity

Lin Lisha from Shenzhen University is the president of her university’s drama society. She has fond memories of the 2019 tour of ‘After the Bitter Comes the Sweet’, a show which she praised as excellent. She has since hoped to have more exchanges with the UM and other university theatre groups in the GBA. ‘It’s amazing to play drama online and learn with so many students across the GBA!’

Students from Shenzhen University presented ‘A Bounden Duty’, which tells the story of a girl who was praised for her kindness in helping others. But once the girl grows up, she no longer helps others without any hesitation. Through this show, Lin’s team hopes to encourage the audience to think about integrity, a traditional virtue that we all value and do not necessarily have a deep understanding of.

A Bounden Duty, presented by students from Shenzhen University

Tribute to Martyrs

Meanwhile, Wuyi University presented a performance of ‘Kapok Flowers in Bloom’, which tells the love story between Zhou Wenyong and Chen Tiejun, revolutionary martyrs in Wuyi. Huang Yulin, a member of the university’s drama society, says his team hopes to pay tribute to the two martyrs and present ‘integrity’, one of the five Confucian constant virtues. ‘We hope to show how a revolutionary-minded couple made important decisions about their lives and loved ones at a time when the nation’s survival is threatened, in order to portray the Chinese people’s awakening,’ he says.

According to Huang, he and his drama colleagues always rehearsed until late at night to bring the best performance to the festival, which they see as an excellent opportunity to work and learn with other GBA university students.

Kapok Flowers in Bloom, presented by students from Wuyi University

Drama and Philosophy

Furthermore, students from the Southern University of Science and Technology (SUST) presented ‘Captive Audience’ to explore ‘wisdom’. Their play is about a couple who always turn on the television at home afterwards without realising that their lives and emotions are dominated by their TV set.

Zhao Jiajun, a SUST student, says that the twist ending of ‘Captive Audience’ reminds the audience that in this era of instant access to entertainment, everyone should remain calm to appreciate the true beauty of life and not be blinded by the fragmented entertainment presented to them.

Captive Audience, presented by students from the Southern University of Science and Technology

GBA University Drama Festival 2021 Online

The Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao University Alliance was established in late 2016, with UM, Sun Yat-sen University and the Chinese University of Hong Kong as co-directors, and a total of 41 member institutions. The ‘2021 Guangdong, Hong Kong, Macao and Greater Bay Area University Drama Festival’ is organised by the Alliance, hosted by the UMSU Drama Society, co-hosted by Frost Ice Snow Creative Experimental Theatre, co-organised by UM and the UM Students’ Union, and supported by the Alliance for Technological Innovation and Talent Development in Western Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area. Scheduled to be held in June 2021, the festival was postponed due to trade-related developments and took place online. Members of the public are welcome to experience GBA university students’ creativity and their exploration of traditional Chinese values via drama performances. For more information about the festival, please visit the UMSU Drama Society’s Facebook page.

主題探討五常
大灣區高校戲劇節線上上演

文:盛惠怡、校園記者廖榮志  │ 圖:受訪者提供

今年是粵港澳高校聯盟創立五週年以及澳門大學40週年校慶,澳大一群熱愛戲劇的學生以澳大校訓「仁、義、禮、知、信」為題,將與另外七所灣區高校學子,在首個「粵港澳大灣區高校戲劇節」中線上演出多齣精彩劇目,探討中華傳統智慧,弘揚藝術文化和傳承中華民族核心價值。

「2021粵港澳大灣區高校戲劇節」於12月5日舉行線上開幕儀式

連結灣區青年揚帆追夢

澳大戲劇社將於是次戲劇節表演《苦盡甘來》,此劇曾於內地巡演,通過一段父女情訴說家國兒女情,探討「仁、義、禮、知、信」中的仁。

法學院四年級學生石恩慈是澳大戲劇社社長,她說澳大作為東道主,牽頭多間高校熱愛戲劇的學生一起於線上演出,感到格外興奮和感動。「很高興能夠在母校40週年校慶探討校訓精神,更高興的是邀請灣區學子共同以藝術傳承中華美德,在交流演出中踐行特區青年的灣區共融使命。」石恩慈期待戲劇節能以藝術連結灣區青年,大家一同在舞台上揚帆追夢。

《苦盡甘來》劇照

扮演抗疫英雄

廣東外語外貿大學戲劇隊表演的劇目是《「譯」勝「疫」》,講述疫情期間該校志願者在廣州白雲機場為旅客提供翻譯協助,以自身專業為抗疫出一分力,充分體現「禮」和「知」的傳承。該校戲劇隊隊長付敉璐說,演員在排練過程中需穿保護面罩、防護服、手套等,每次綵排結束後臉上都留下深深的壓痕,而且滿身是汗,此外還需要學習多種語言。「演員們深刻感受到防疫前線人員面對的困難與他們的偉大。」

付敉璐認為,是次戲劇節除了能促進各灣區高校交流外,更能幫助大家完善戲劇編排,相互取經,更重要的是能提升大灣區戲劇藝術水平。

《「譯」勝「疫」》劇照

先賢的不朽智慧

北京師範大學珠海分校、北京師範大學珠海校區的學生於戲劇節表演《師者》,該劇以「仁」為主題,講述一位新上任的作文老師力圖改變學生僵化的寫作模式,希望他們通過寫作記錄生活、抒發情感,但孩子們並不肯如他所願。劇社代表石慧瑩說,該劇希望帶出韓愈在《師說》中所説「師者」的「傳道」職責所在,讓觀眾感受先賢們留下的不朽智慧。

演員們在排練時遇到不少困難,例如有的演員飾演八、九歳的小孩或年近半百的教授,石慧瑩說:「大家互相扶持,共同克服困難,有的演員更對劇本中一人分飾兩角的演繹有了突破性的收穫。」石慧瑩說,很高興在這次戲劇節與各高校一起交流,瞭解其他高校戲劇人的思維,擴闊視野。

《師者》劇照

傳達對「義」的思考

來自深圳大學的林莉莎是該大學劇團的團長,2019年《苦盡甘來》劇組曾到該校巡演,林莉莎對此記憶猶新。她形容澳大同學的表演「超級棒」,其後一直希望能與澳大及其他灣區大學的劇團有更多交流,這個心願終於能在是次戲劇節中實現。「這次能在線上和大灣區這麼多高校的同學一同演出,彼此通過劇作交流,是件很幸福的事!」

深圳大學學生將為觀眾帶來劇目《不容辭》,講述一位小時因熱心助人受讚美的女孩,隨著成長不再義無反顧地助人。林莉莎說,劇團深入剖析「義」這個大家習以為常而不會過多思考的傳統美德,希望透過此劇引起觀眾對「義」的思考。

《不容辭》劇照

致敬英烈

五邑大學演出的劇目是《木棉花開》,講述五邑地區革命烈士周文雍與陳鐵軍的愛情故事。該校劇團成員黃玉林說,劇團希望通過詮釋和致敬兩位烈士,向觀眾呈現儒家五常中的「義」。他說:「我們希望展現革命戀人在民族生死存亡的大義面前,他們個人及愛情之大義,以及群眾的覺醒。」

黃玉林說,劇團成員為了戲劇節經常每天下課後一起排練至深夜,他和團員認為能與各灣區高校的青年學子一同演出,是個非常好的交流機會。

《木棉花開》劇照

帶領觀眾投入哲思類戲劇

南方科技大學的劇目《被俘的觀眾》圍繞著「知」創作,講述一對剛下班回家的夫婦打開電視解悶,孰不知觀眾的一顰一笑,喜怒哀樂,已被電視所主導,而觀眾卻懵然不知,悄悄被電視俘虜了。

南方科技大學的代表趙嘉駿說,這套劇目結尾的大反轉,提醒觀眾在現今這個極容易獲得娛樂資訊的時代,一定要保持理智,不要被碎片化的「快樂」蒙蔽自己觀察美好現實生活的雙眼。」

《被俘的觀眾》劇照

「2021粵港澳大灣區高校戲劇節」線上舉辦

粵港澳高校聯盟於2016年底成立,澳門大學與中山大學和香港中文大學共同牽頭成立,共有41間高等院校加盟。「2021粵港澳大灣區高校戲劇節」由粵港澳高校聯盟主辦,澳門大學學生會戲劇社承辦,霜冰雪創作實驗劇團合辦,澳門大學、澳門大學學生會協辦,並得到粵港澳大灣區西岸科技創新和人才培養合作聯盟的支持。今屆戲劇節原定於2021年6月舉辦,因疫情防控延期並改以線上形式舉辦,所有演出已於網上展演,歡迎市民大眾參與,感受大灣區高校學子大膽創新的青年戲劇,見證新生代對中華傳統美德的探索呈現。更多戲劇節詳情請瀏覽「澳門大學學生會戲劇社」Facebook專頁。