New Members Join the UM Reporter and PR Student Ambassador Programmes

Chinese & English: UM Reporter Ku Weng Hin & Trainee UM Reporter Jasmine He  │ Photo: UM Reporter Ashley Kam & Editorial Board

The UM Reporter Programme and the PR Student Ambassador Programme have recruited a total of 84 new members this year. Recently, senior members of the two programmes organised orientation activities to help new members integrate into the team and gain a better understanding of the programmes.

The tenth cohort of members of the UM Reporter Programme in an orientation activity

The 12th cohort of members of the PRSA Programme in an orientation activity

During the events, Katrina Cheong, director of the Communications Office (CO), told the new members about the communications strategies of the university. She also encouraged them to use the opportunity to develop their talents and enhance their competitiveness.

CO Director Katrina Cheong tells new members about the two programmes and the university’s communications strategies

Du Zhiqing, a third-year psychology major, is a fan of photography. She says she hopes to improve her photography skills and develop a nose for news through the UM Reporter Programme. Steven Chen, a second-year student in the Faculty of Business Administration (FBA), wants to reach his full potential in the UM Reporter programme. ‘I’m looking forward to writing news articles about UM, so that people around the world can learn more about our university,’ he says.

Elaine Yao, a second-year student in the FBA, is deeply interested in multimedia production. What she particularly likes about the UM Reporter Programme is that it offers many training opportunities for its members. ‘I hope I can work with my team members to promote UM on social media through short videos,’ she says. Luna Cao, a first-year student in the Department of the Communication, hopes to improve her writing and video production skills.

This year, the PRSA programme has also attracted many applications. Salvatore Jin, a first-year student majoring in English, joined the programme hoping to sharpen his event organisation and communication skills. Daisy Lei, a second-year student in the Department of Accounting and Information Management, says she felt the warmth of the senior members during the orientation activities. ‘I hope to improve my interpretation skills through the programme and become a more confident public speaker.’ says Lei.

Launched by the CO in 2012 and 2010, respectively, the UM Reporter Programme and the PRSA Programme recruit students from different faculties and departments. The UM Reporter Progamme is targeted at students who are interested in developing interview, writing, and multimedia skills, and offers a wide range of trainings, workshops, and exchange trips for participants. So far, over 360 students have received training in the programme. The PRSA Programme focuses on developing skills in guest reception, public relations, interpersonal communication, and event organisation. So far, it has trained over 500 student ambassadors, who have provided more than 1,700 guided tours for over 73,000 visitors from around the world.

澳大校園記者學生公關大使迎新助新成員融入團隊

文:資深校園記者古詠軒、實習校園記者何韞睿  │ 圖:校園記者甘樂怡、編輯部

第10屆澳門大學校園記者計劃及第12屆學生公關大使計劃招募了84名新成員,日前舉辦迎新活動,協助新成員融入團隊及加深了解。

第10屆澳門大學校園記者迎新活動

第12屆學生公關大使計劃迎新活動

在迎新活動上,澳大傳訊總監張惠琴為兩計劃的新成員分別講解澳大的傳播策略,並勉勵他們積極發揮校記和公關大使的精神,把握實踐機會,拓展專業以外的才能,以提升個人的競爭力。

澳大傳訊總監張惠琴講解澳大傳播策略

愛好攝影的心理學系三年級學生杜芷晴希望通過校園記者計劃鍛煉拍攝技巧和提升新聞觸覺。工商管理學院二年級學生陳宇哲希望在這計劃發揮所長:「我期待通過撰寫報導傳遞澳大的訊息,讓社會各界認識澳大、了解澳大。」

對多媒體製作感興趣的工商管理學院二年級學生姚琳婧認為,計劃提供很多培訓機會,「希望與我的組員一起努力為澳大的短視頻平台出一分力。」傳播系新生曹馨月則希望學習更多影音製作知識,「我希望通過校園記者計劃的實踐平台,加強寫作及影片製作的技能。」

學生公關大使計劃今年亦吸引不少學生加入。英文系新生金澤永聖期待從中學習如何加強溝通、籌辦活動和團隊合作的能力。會計及資訊管理學系二年級學生李芷倩表示,在迎新活動中,感受到這個大家庭的溫暖和熱情,她說:「我希望通過計劃鍛煉演講和導賞技巧,比現在更大膽對著群眾說話。」

校園記者及學生公關大使計劃由澳大傳訊部分別在2012年及2010年推出,學生來自不同學系。校園記者計劃為對採訪、寫作及多媒體有興趣的學生提供實習平台,通過培訓、工作坊與交流,增強他們對新聞採訪的認知和實際操作能力,至今已培訓逾360名學生。學生公關大使計劃至今培訓逾500人,通過一系列培訓和實踐,培養學生的接待技巧、公共關係、大型活動策劃和人際關係等能力,累計接待了逾73,000人次,逾1,700個導賞團。