Prof Liu Tzu-Ming: Blood Fluorescence Monitor Aids Early Diagnosis of Serious Illnesses

English Translation: Ruby Chen  │ Photo: Jack Ho & Kian Yeung

In recent years, the University of Macau (UM) has been actively promoting the transformation of research results into products and services that can benefit the community. Through the Centre for Innovation and Entrepreneurship (CIE) under the UM Institute of Collaborative Innovation, Associate Professor Liu Tzu-Ming’s team has founded a hi-tech company called ‘Catydid’, which has developed a blood fluorescence detection technology for the early diagnosis of serious illnesses. Prof Liu hopes that the high-tech products developed by the company will create maximum value to the community.

Prof Liu’s research projects are jointly funded by Huafa Group and UM

Facilitating Early Diagnosis of Serious Illnesses

Established in 2017, the CIE aims to provide a platform for UM students and faculty members interested in innovation and entrepreneurship to transform their creative ideas into products and to provide support for innovation and entrepreneurship. In recent years, the centre has established partnerships with organisations as well as innovation and entrepreneurship incubators in the Greater Bay Area that serve the high-tech sector, working closely with research institutions and companies across the region. UM faculty members and students has founded more than 30 companies to facilitate technology transfer. Earlier, the centre also received approval to serve as a national co-working space.

Prof Liu Tzu-Ming

Catydid is one of the companies incubated in the centre. The team has developed a medical product—a blood fluorescence monitor—which can see through the fluorescence in the blood to help doctors detect serious illnesses such as sepsis, shock, kidney failure, and heart failure at an early stage. In addition to the development of the blood fluorescence monitor, the team has also started a project to observe the microenvironment of tumours through a multi-photon microscopy platform, with a particular focus on the relationship between cancer cells and macrophages, in order to discover the pathology of tumours and help design targeted drugs to enhance the effectiveness of precision medicine for cancer.

Prof Liu’s team has founded the company Catydid with the support of UM

Technology Transfer in Hengqin

Prof Liu holds a PhD degree from the Graduate Institute of Photonics and Optoelectronics. He joined UM in 2016. His main research interests include medical device development, embryonic development, tumour microenvironment, pharmacokinetics of nanomedicines, and intracellular cell counting of white blood cells. His team, Catydid, won the Outstanding Award in the Seventh China Innovation and Entrepreneurship Competition (Jiangsu Region) and the Sixth Biomedical Industry Technopreneurship Competition in Jiangsu. He says: ‘We began to do some preliminary design and planning with the manufacturer last year and we have been using laboratory equipment to do Proof of Concept for a while. We hope to finish developing the machine and assembling it into a system that can be used in hospitals.’ He says the team will first create one or two prototypes of the blood fluorescence monitor, and after passing safety trials in hospitals, the team will carry out technology transfer in the Hengqin Industrial Park, with the aim of promoting the product in the entire Greater Bay Area.

Zhuhai UM Science & Technology Research Institute

Creating Greater Social Value with Knowledge and Technology

One step to transforming research results into products and services that can benefit the community is to establish a complete intellectual property rights management system. In 2018, the Research Services and Knowledge Transfer Office (RSKTO) at UM was restructured to strengthen research services and intellectual property rights protection. In the same year, the Regulation of Management of Intellectual Property for University of Macau and the Rules of Management of Intellectual Property for University of Macau were formulated to effectively protect and extend high-quality research results. In addition, in 2019, the university’s wholly-owned company, UMTec, was restructured to be responsible for the management and industrialisation of UM’s intellectual property rights.

Prof Liu says that the university provides great support to research teams formed by faculty members and students. ‘UM professors come from around the world and they have developed many new technologies,’ says Prof Liu. ‘As the technologies become more sophisticated, there is a need to think about how to help patent the intellectual property and how to transfer the results to the market, and the Institute for Collaborative Innovation, the RSKTO, and UMTec can help students and faculty to realise technology transfer.’

Prof Liu’s team has established a presence in the Chinese medicine industrial park

In March 2019, UM and the Hengqin New Area Administrative Committee signed a collaboration agreement, under which both parties built UM’s first industry-academia collaboration base in the Greater Bay Area through Zhuhai UM Science & Technology Research Institute. At the base, a number of UM-developed technologies are being actively commercialised through collaboration with the local government and companies. Prof Liu believes that the future of the Greater Bay Area will be an integrated economy, and that the university’s industry-academia collaboration base in Hengqin will help promote the development of companies founded by UM faculty and students in the Greater Bay Area. He says: ‘We hope that some of the knowledge we create or the technologies we develop can be turned into an industry that will generate greater social value for the Macao community and for the Greater Bay Area.’

劉子銘教授:血液螢光監測儀助早期重症診斷

文:張愛華  │ 圖:何杰平、楊靜文

近年,澳門大學積極推動師生團隊將科研成果轉化為可落地使用的產品和服務,健康科學學院副教授劉子銘的團隊透過澳大協同創新研究院轄下創新創業中心開設一間名為「看透你Catydid」的科技公司,研發一項新的血液螢光技術,對嚴重疾病進行早期診斷。劉教授期望研發的高科技產品能夠為社會產生最大的價值。

劉子銘教授的研究項目獲華發集團與澳門大學聯合資助

協助早期重症診斷
2017年創立的創新創業中心 (下簡稱中心)專為有興趣創新創業的師生能夠將創意理念轉化成產品,並提供一個創新創業的支持平台,中心已獲批為「國家級眾創空間」。中心近年頻繁與大灣區內服務高新科技領域的機構和創新創業孵化器建立合作關係,與大灣區各地的科研機構和企業緊密合作。澳大師生已通過中心創辦了30多家企業,進行科技成果轉化。

劉子銘教授

劉教授團隊的科技公司「看透你Catydid」是中心其中一間孵化企業,主要是利用團隊的研究開發一台血液螢光監測儀的醫療產品,其核心技術是可以看透血液裏面的螢光,並有如天氣預報般幫助醫生早期發現敗血症、休克、腎衰竭、心臟衰竭等重症。除了研發血液螢光監測儀外,他們團隊還展開以下的研究項目——通過多光子顯微系統平台來觀察腫瘤的微環境,尤其關注癌細胞和巨噬細胞之間的關係,從而發現腫瘤的病理,協助設計標靶藥物,提升癌症的精準治療。

劉子銘教授與團隊在澳大支持下創立科技公司「看透你Catydid」

於橫琴進行技術轉化

台灣大學光電工程學研究所博士學位畢業的劉教授,於2016加入澳大,重點研究醫療器械開發、胚胎發育、腫瘤微環境、納米藥物的藥代動力學和白細胞體內細胞計數。他帶領的「看透你Catydid」團隊在第七屆中國創新創業大賽(江蘇賽區)暨第六屆「創業江蘇」科技創業大賽生物醫藥行業賽中獲得優秀獎。他說:「我們在去年已開始跟製造商做一些初步的設計、規劃,過去一段時間,一直利用實驗室儀器做原理性驗證,預計把這台機器做出來,並組裝成為一個可以到醫院裏面服務的系統。」他表示,團隊會先做一至兩台血液螢光監測儀的原型機,經醫院試驗確認安全性後,再於橫琴的產業園進行技術轉化,目標將產品延伸至大灣區。

珠海澳大科技研究院

將知識技術產生更大社會價值

要將科研成果轉化可落地應用的產品和服務,其中一步是建立完整的知識產權管理制度。因此,澳大在2018年改組成立研究服務及知識轉移辦公室,全面強化研究服務和知識產權保障意識,並於2018年制定了《澳門大學知識產權管理規章》及細化的《澳門大學知識產權管理規條》,對高質量科研成果進行有效保護和延伸。此外,由澳大全資擁有的澳大創科有限公司於2019年改組,專門負責澳大知識財產權的管理和產業化。

劉教授表示,大學對於師生研究團隊提供很大的支援,「來自世界各地的澳大教授研發了眾多新科技,當技術含量越來越高,就需要思考如何協助把知識財產權申請專利或進行成果轉化到市場,而協同創新研究院、研究服務及知識轉移辦公室、澳大創科有限公司正好可以協助師生把成果轉化到業界。」

劉子銘教授進駐中醫藥產業園設創新基地

2019年3月,澳大與珠海市橫琴新區管委會簽署「珠海澳大科技研究院與珠海市橫琴新區管理委員會合作協議,依托珠海澳大科技研究院建設澳大在大灣區的首個產學研基地。在橫琴產學研基地,一批澳大的科技成果正在對接當地政府和企業資源積極開展商業化過程,劉教授認為大灣區未來將是一個整體的經濟體,而澳大在橫琴的產學研基地將可以協助推動師生企業在大灣區的發展。「我們團隊期望研發出來的一些知識技術能夠變成一個產業,為澳門社會,甚至大灣區產生更大的社會價值。」