My PhD Supervisor and I

Text: Ella Cheong, Kelvin U │ Photo: Provided by interviewees

During the anti-epidemic period when classes are suspended, a group of doctoral students of the University of Macau (UM) continue with their research studies at home. Under the guidance of their supervisors, many of them have completed their theses. In this article, we interview several students to hear their stories with their PhD supervisors.

Searching for a Cure for the Novel Coronavirus

Luo is a PhD student in the Institute of Chinese Medical Sciences (ICMS). She is now working with Prof Wang Yitao, her thesis supervisor, as well as her other supervisors, to screen drugs in order to find a cure for the novel coronavirus. Her thesis studies how modern medicine and traditional Chinese medicine can be used in combination to treat pneumonia caused by the novel coronavirus. She says Chinese medicine has played an undeniable role in both the combat against Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome (SARS) in 2003 and the current battle on the novel coronavirus.

Luo Hua and Prof Wang Yitao attend an academic conference together

Recipient of a gold award at the International Exhibition of Inventions of Geneva, Luo says the originality of her study lies in its focus on the noticeable advantage of combining Chinese and Western medicine in the treatment of patients with confirmed novel coronavirus infection, which hopefully can demonstrate to the world the value and wisdom of traditional Chinese medicine. ‘We will study the cases where patients received the best treatment when modern medicine and traditional Chinese medicine were used in conjunction,’ she says. ‘We will analyse the merits and shortcomings of both, which we hope will provide some valuable information for countries around the world affected by the pandemic.’ 

Transferring to UM from Overseas to Study with Prof Wang

In 2017, when Luo was studying for her master’s degree at Guangxi University of Chinese Medicine, she met Prof Wang who visited the university to give an academic report. ‘I learned that UM had a well-developed platform for innovative studies in Chinese medicine,’ she says. Upon learning that Luo had already published eight academic articles and obtained seven invention patents, Prof Wang encouraged her to apply to UM for PhD studies.

At the time, Luo had already received an offer from a university in Australia, so she politely declined Prof Wang’s invitation but expressed her wish to consider further studies at UM upon graduation in Australia. However, after studying in Australia for a few months and careful comparison of the two universities, she decided to transfer to UM. She explains, ‘Prof Wang is the first chief scientist appointed to head a Chinese medicine project under the national 973 Programme. I felt if I could study with him, I would reach a new level and find my direction in my academic life.’

Over the past two years at UM, Luo has benefited greatly from a group of dedicated faculty members in the ICMS who are not only knowledgeable and happy to answer students’ questions, but also devote a lot of time and energy advising students in their thesis writing. ‘Take my supervisor Prof Wang for example,’ she says. ‘He always carefully proofreads my thesis and provides valuable suggestions. When I compare my original version with the version revised with his guidance, I could always see the huge difference.’

Innovative Research in Civil Engineering

Yang Xiaohui, a PhD student in the Faculty of Science and Technology, did not return to his hometown, the Inner Mongolia Autonomous Region, for the Chinese New Year. He has been staying on campus during the epidemic. As laboratories at UM are not accessible at the moment, Yang communicates with his advisor Prof Yuen Ka Veng on the internet to carry on with his research study in Bayesian inversion. The study explores the number and the thickness distribution of near-surface layers of the Earth. The paper has been accepted by the professional academic journal Earthquake Engineering and Engineering Vibration and is waiting to be published.

Yang Xiaohui follows a work schedule every day

In most existing methods in earthquake engineering, the number of layers is assumed known prior to the process of inversion. Titled ‘Bayesian Rayleigh Wave Inversion without Knowing the Number of Layers’, Yang’s paper proposes a Bayesian nonparametric method for Rayleigh wave inversion. In the proposed method, each model class represents a particular number of layers with unknown S-wave velocity and thickness of each layer. As a result, the determination of the number of layers is equivalent to the selection of the most befitting model class. Yang’s study is innovative and can also provide solutions to key problems in Bayesian inversion. ‘Traditional Bayesian inversion requires a known number of layers. The method proposed by Yang has made an important change by allowing an unknown number of layers,’ says an expert who has read his paper.

Following Advice and Being Self-disciplined

Yang says Prof Yuen has made an indelible contribution to the study. ‘Prof Yuen has attained outstanding achievements in Bayesian studies. I transferred to UM because I admired him,’ says Yang. ‘Prof Yuen not only provides patient guidance, he also cares about my learning progress and my life. It helps me maintain a good mood and focus on research.’

Prof Yuen Ka Veng (4th from right) and his postgraduate students, including Yang, receive Prof Erik Johnson from the University of Southern California.

Self-discipline is key to doing research at home. As Yang cannot visit the laboratory regularly like he did in the past, he has made himself a work schedule and strictly follows it every day. He also consults Prof Yuen online about problems he encounters in his research.

Yang Xiaohui discusses his thesis with Prof Yuen Ka Veng online

New Study Expected to Enhance Academic Writing in Chinese

Liu Rui is a PhD student in the Faculty of Arts and Humanities (FAH). He has been studying at UM for a year and a half now, during which time he has published three conference papers and one English book chapter (which was published by the internationally renowned Springer Publishing Company). Recently, Liu has completed another academic paper and has submitted it to the Journal of Applied Linguistics. The paper is now under review for publication.

Liu Rui has completed a new research article while ‘cooped up’ at home in Zhuhai

Liu’s main research focus is Chinese linguistics. His supervisor is Prof Xu Jie, a linguist and interim dean of the FAH. Liu says: ‘In the early days of the epidemic, Prof Xu reminded us that although the epidemic had disrupted normal life, it was also a period when there were less distractions, so he encouraged us to use this to our advantage to read, think, and do research.’ Under the guidance of Prof Xu, Liu recently completed a paper on the functions and distributions of reporting markers in Chinese academic texts, which is now under review for publication in the Journal of Applied Linguistics. The paper aims to deepen understanding of the linguistic characteristics of Chinese texts. Its systematic and in-depth study of the reporting markers in Chinese academic texts fills the gap in the field. ‘The related findings can be applied in the teaching of academic writing in Chinese to enhance the quality of academic writing in Chinese,’ he says.

Prof Xu Jie (right), Liu Rui (middle), and student Wen Han who has already graduated from UM.

Distance Discussion with His Supervisor

Although the epidemic precludes face-to-face interaction, Prof Xu continues to provide guidance to Liu via WeChat and email. ‘Prof Xu shares academic information with me, monitors my research progress, and helps me revise my paper, ’says Liu. ‘The impact of the epidemic on me has been minimal, because my work is mostly done on computer and therefore it is possible for Prof Xu to provide guidance from a distance.’ Liu also makes full use of online resources, including the electronic resources of the UM library, open online courses, and online sharing, to conduct his research.

An English book chapter written by Liu Rui has been published by the internationally renowned Springer Publishing House

Liu visited UM to attend an academic conference while he was studying for a master’s degree at Xiamen University. He liked the beautiful and quiet campus and the open and inclusive academic atmosphere, which he found to be very conducive to thinking and research. ‘I was not the only one who felt this way,’ he says. ‘Several other scholars who came to UM with me also expressed the same feeling. Macao is a multilingual society, which is very good for linguistic studies. Prof Xu is a well-known scholar in this field. So I decided to study for a PhD degree at UM with Prof Xu.’

抗疫期間,我與我博導的微故事……

文:張愛華、余偉業 │ 圖:受訪者提供

澳門大學博士研究生在抗疫停課期間,跟指導老師繼續遙距討論,進行研究並完成多篇論文。《澳大人》訪問了幾位研究生,講述他們這段抗疫期間跟博導之間的研究故事。

篩選有效治療新型冠狀病毒藥方

羅花是中華醫藥研究院博士研究生,疫症當前,她跟隨論文導師、院長王一濤教授和其他導師,一起篩選有效治療新型冠狀病毒的藥方與藥物,並以《現代醫學與中華醫藥治療新型冠狀病毒肺炎的優勢互補》為題進行研究。她表示,無論在今次抗擊新型冠狀病毒肺炎,抑或2003年「沙士」,中醫藥都發揮了不可抹滅的作用。

羅花和王一濤教授一起參加研討會

曾奪得「日內瓦國際發明金獎」的羅花表示,今次研究的創新之處在於結合中醫基礎理論,分析中西醫結合治療新型冠狀病毒的明顯優勢,向世界展現中西醫結合抗疫的中國智慧。她說:「我們會分析抗疫中,現代醫藥與中華醫藥共展所長、互相配合,給予患者最好治療的案例,理性分析兩者優缺點,希望能為陷於疫情的世界各國提供有利的治療參考經驗。」 

海外轉學到澳大追隨博導

2017年,羅花在廣西中醫藥大學攻讀碩士時,認識了前來做學術報告的王一濤教授,「澳大的中醫藥創新生態平台做得很好。王教授當時得知我碩士畢業時,已發表八篇學術論文、申請了七項發明專利,他就鼓勵我報考澳大博士。」

由於當時羅花已拿到澳洲一所大學的博士錄取通知,所以向王教授委婉表達待畢業後再到澳大。後來羅花赴澳洲學習數月後,不斷比較兩所大學的優勢,經再三考慮,她決定轉學到澳大。「王教授是國家973中醫藥項目第一位首席科學家,能跟隨他,相信能提升專業境界,找到未來學術方向的定位。」

來澳大學習兩年,羅花深深體會到研究院的老師治學嚴謹,既博學又樂於解答學生問題,在論文的總體框架、立意、文獻檢索、撰寫等方面,付出了很多時間與精力,尤其是她的導師王一濤教授。「王教授會一絲不苟的幫忙修改和提出完善意見,經過他的修改和啓發,材料經常會提升幾個層次。」

土木工程研究具創新性

抗疫期間,科技學院博士研究生楊曉輝一直留校沒有返回內蒙古滿洲里的家,他在不能回到實驗室情況下,與導師阮家榮教授在線溝通,進行「貝葉斯面波反演」的研究,瞭解淺地表地層層數、地層厚度分佈情況。有關研究論文已被專業學術期刊《地震工程與工程振動》(Earthquake Engineering and Engineering Vibration)接受,正等待出刊。

楊曉輝每天堅持規律學習

傳統推敲地層層數的方法是假設地層數已知的,楊曉輝在其論文《未知層數的貝葉斯瑞雷面波反演》(Bayesian Rayleigh Wave Inversion without Knowing the Number of Layers)的研究則逆其道而行,針對「面波反演」,把地層層數當作未知量處理,利用貝葉斯模型選擇方法確定地層層數,進而完成每一層地球模型參數的計算工作。他的研究不但具創新性,還能解決面波反演中的關鍵問題,更有專家在審稿時指出:「傳統面波反演方法需要知道層數,而楊曉輝所提出的方法不需要知道層數,這種改進是非常重要的。」

遵從師訓自律學習

楊曉輝表示,導師阮家榮教授在今次研究中功不可沒,「阮教授在貝葉斯領域取得了優秀的科研成果,我也是因為仰慕阮教授而到澳大升學。阮教授不僅給了我關鍵的指導,還關心我的學習和生活,令我好好地調節好心情,將心思放在研究中。」

阮家榮教授(右四)與楊曉輝等研究生曾接待到訪的南加州大學工程學院副院長Erik Johnson教授

在家進行研究,自律是最重要的一點。楊曉輝最近沒辦法像以往一樣每天規律的到實驗室進行研究,但積極響應「停課不停學」的原則,堅持自學,並遵從師訓自律學習,踏實地繼續研究工作。他還做了時間表,每天堅持執行;同時,透過網絡與阮教授溝通,解決研究中遇到的疑問。

楊曉輝與阮家榮教授利用網絡討論論文細節

研究可提升漢語學術寫作水平

劉銳是人文學院博士研究生,來澳大深造一年半,先後發表了三篇會議論文,以及一篇由國際知名學術出版社Springer出版的英文書籍章節(Book Chapter)。他最近還完成了最新一篇論文並投稿至《語言文字應用》期刊,正等待審稿中。

劉銳最近「宅」在珠海的家完成了一篇新的研究論文

劉銳研究方向是漢語語言學,其導師是人文學院代院長、語言學家徐杰教授。劉銳說:「疫情剛開始的時候,徐教授就提醒我們,疫情對生活造成了很大影響,但要抓住這一段沒有太多打擾的時間,多讀書、思考、做研究,轉弊為利。」在博導的指導下,劉銳最近完成的論文主要研究漢語學術語篇中轉述標記的功能與分佈,目前在《語言文字應用》期刊審稿中。他的研究加深了對漢語語篇的語言特徵的認識,特別是有關學術語篇轉述標記的研究,較為系統和深入,彌補了相關研究的不足。他說:「相關成果可以應用到中文學術寫作教學上,提升漢語學術寫作的質量和水平。」

徐杰教授(右)、劉銳(中)及另一位已畢業的研究生温涵

跟博導遙距討論

雖然疫情阻隔了面對面的交流,不能與導師面談,但徐教授通過微信、郵件等方式保持對劉銳的指導,「徐教授會跟我分享一些學術資訊,督促我的研究進度和幫助我修改論文等。我的工作主要在計算機上進行,因此可以遙距進行。」他還充分利用網絡資源,包括運用澳大圖書館的數字資源、網絡公開課、網上分享等方式開展學習和研究。

劉銳之前寫的一篇英文書籍章節獲國際知名學術出版社Springer出版

劉銳在廈門大學讀碩士期間到訪澳大參加學術會議,很喜歡這裡優雅靜謐的環境和包容開放的學術氛圍,很利於研究和思考,「這不光是我個人的感受,當年一起到訪澳大的幾位學者也向我表達了同樣的感受。加上澳門是一個多語環境,適合做語言方面的研究,徐杰教授是這個領域的著名學者,因此就決定來澳大跟隨他攻讀博士。」