Distance Education Series
Interviews with FHS Professors

Text: Ella Cheong & Davis Ip │ Photo: Ella Cheong, Davis Ip & Hasen Cai, with some provided by interviewees

Editor’s Note: Since the novel coronavirus outbreak and the consequent suspension of classes to prevent the spread of the virus, distance education has become a hot topic in Macao, Hong Kong, and mainland China. Here at the University of Macau (UM), faculty members have been offering online courses to ensure that students keep learning amid class suspension. In these My UM articles, we cover the online courses from different faculties and departments and take a closer look at how faculty members prepare these courses and how they monitor the students’ learning progress.

In this article, we interview several faculty members in the Faculty of Health Sciences (FHS). They are Prof Xiang Yutao, an expert in psychiatric clinical medicine ; Prof Luo Qian, an expert in cancer research; Prof Garry Wong, an expert in genetics, and Prof Chao Chong Hang, an expert in biology. They share with us their experiences with distance teaching.

Adjusting Course Content to Reflect the Epidemic

Prof Xiang Yutao has been long involved in the studies of the clinical epidemiology of psychiatry, psychiatric clinical medicine, and related topics. This semester, he teaches an online course in public health via UMMoodle and Zoom.

Since the start of this semester, Prof Xiang has been up to his ears in work. He spends a lot of time preparing for each online class. ‘Public health is closely related to the novel coronavirus epidemic, so I adjusted the course content accordingly by incorporating a lot of related topics for students to discuss,’ he says. ‘Distance education cannot deliver the same results as the traditional classroom-based mode, but given the current circumstances, this is already the best option we have.’

Prof Xiang Yutao

Focusing on Case Studies

Prof Xiang always places an emphasis on case studies in his teaching. This semester, while the mode of teaching has changed, the course content remains largely the same. The novel coronavirus epidemic prompted him to use historical examples of infectious diseases such as the Black Plaque and cholera plaques to compare the merits and shortcomings of the different ways in which China and other countries handled different epidemics. He says, ‘I explain to my students from the perspective of public health that although modern medicine is very advanced, when faced with a sudden outbreak of an infectious disease, people tend to handle it in a way that is very similar to how people from several hundred years ago handled it. The bottom line is that the rapid spread of the disease can only be controlled with a public health approach.’

Prof Xiang points out that from the standpoint of public health, controlling the spread of an infectious disease includes several steps. The first step is identity, which means identifying infected patients, suspected patients, and their close contacts as soon as possible. The second step is isolation, which means putting people in the above categories in quarantine. ‘The epidemic in mainland China is now largely under control, but it is important to look back to identify the lessons learned in the process,’ he says. ‘On the other hand, countries like Japan, South Korea, Italy, and the United States are witnessing a rapid increase in the number of infected cases despite their advanced medical services, and we should ask why.’

Monitoring Students’ Mental Health

Back in 2003, during the SARs epidemic, Prof Xiang worked at a Beijing hospital as a psychiatrist. In addition to his own patients, he sometimes also provided psychological counselling to people outside the hospital. In the early days of the novel coronavirus epidemic, several of Prof Xiang’s students became worried or even depressed. To help these students, Prof Xiang shared his counselling experience during the SARs epidemic. The mood of these students is more stable now, and Prof Xiang believes that with the epidemic getting under control and the increasing transparency of information, these worries and fears will gradually dissipate. He has formed an expert psychological counselling team with eight other colleagues from UM to provide psychological counselling to quarantined people and frontline workers.

Teaching Translational Medicine to Undergraduates

Prof Luo Qian mainly studies the metastasis and drug resistance of breast cancer cells. This semester, in addition to supervising postgraduate students, she also teaches a course in translational medicine to 22 undergraduate students. The course focuses on how to carry scientific knowledge ‘from bench to bedside’—in other words, how to translate findings of scientific research into new therapies and drugs.

Prof Luo is no stranger to the software Zoom. She has used it before for video conferences. So when she received instructions to conduct distance teaching after the Chinese New Year holiday, she was able to quickly adapt to this new mode of teaching. Overall, the course has been progressing smoothly according to the original teaching plan. In the past few weeks, Prof Luo focused on such concepts as hormone replacement therapy, cell signalling and target therapy, and immunotherapy. She explained these concepts with PPT slides and videos. For instance, she made a video to show the apoptosis of fluorescent sensors to keep students more engaged.

Prof Luo Qian

Studying Hard at Home

Prof Luo usually uploads PPT slides to UMMoodle one to two weeks in advance so that students can have enough time to prepare. After each class, she uploads the online session recorded via Zoom to UMMoodle so that participating students can watch again and absent students can catch up. ‘Of course, distance education cannot entirely replace classroom-based education, but what really matters is that students effectively acquire new knowledge from online learning,’ she says.

Prof Luo feels very pleased to learn that students study just as hard at home as when they were attending physical classes. ‘They ask deeper questions now, which shows that they have really learned some new knowledge,’ she says.

Prof Luo also points out that the elimination of the need to rush from one classroom to another creates more time for after-class discussion. She explains, ‘With online education, I can continue to answer students’ questions when the class time is over, and although it takes additional time, it’s definitely worth it.’

Teaching a Course in Writing Research Proposals

Prof Garry Wong specialises in the fundamental biochemical and genetic mechanisms of dopaminergic neurons. This semester, he teaches an online course in writing research proposals to 58 postgraduate students. In the past few weeks, he always began each class with a simple question which he gave the students ten minutes to answer. This way, he was able to tell how many students were attending the class.

Apart from explaining the content in the PPT slides, he also sets two or three writing exercises for each class. Students are required to complete each exercise within 20 minutes and upload their answers to UMMoodle. Prof Wong will then choose some examples from the submissions to illustrate certain key points. ‘Distance education is great for teaching courses in writing because setting and collecting assignments can both be done on UMMoodle,’ he says. ‘When the time is up, all I need to do is check UMMoodle to see how many students have completed the exercises. It saves a lot of time compared to having a teaching assistant collect the answers.’

Prof Garry Wong

Fully-packed Three-hour Lectures

Prof Wong carefully designs each three-hour online lecture to ensure that he stays on track with his original teaching plan. According to him, most students are too shy to turn on the webcam and feel more comfortable discussing and asking questions in the Chat Room. ‘During the three hours, I have to do a lot of things,’ he says. ‘I go through the content while changing the slides and keeping an eye on what the students are talking about in the Chat Room. I feel time goes by quickly in each class.’

Prof Wong says that the first time he taught an online class at home, some students mentioned in passing that his room looked a little messy, so he changed the background into a snow-covered house in Finland. ‘Finland is a very beautiful place,’ he says. ‘I lived and taught there for 20 years. Even now I still go back once or twice a year.’

Pre-recording Oral Presentations

Prof Chao Chong Hang co-supervises the same group of postgraduate students with Prof Wong. He requires students to pre-record their oral presentations and upload them to UMMoodle for him and Prof Wong to grade. ‘This avoids any hiccups that may occur due to unstable internet connection,’ he says.

Prof Chao Chong Hang (upper row, 1st from left) interacts with student using Zoom

According to Prof Chao, students have responded positively to distance education, as is reflected in their high attendance rates and prompt submission of assignments. ‘Some students also like to ask and discuss questions in the Chat Room,’ he says. ‘Overall, the atmosphere in class is very good.’



UMMoodle

Launched in 2008, UMMoodle is an online teaching platform at UM, where students can obtain course-related learning resources including text files, PPTs and video clips. They can also submit assignments and take quizzes on the platform.

Website: https://ummoodle.um.edu.mo/

Learning resources from UM’s Centre for Teaching and Learning Enhancement
Website:
https://go.um.edu.mo/6rjvczah

遙距教學系列
專訪健康科學學院教授

文:張愛華、葉浩男 │ 圖:張愛華、葉浩男、蔡俊祥,部分由受訪者提供

【編按】自新型冠狀病毒肺炎爆發後,遙距教學在澳門、香港和內地的高校師生之間,迅速成為熱門話題。因抗疫停課的關係,澳門大學各學院老師即利用網上教學平台展開遙距教學。《澳大人》報導一系列不同院系的遙距課程,瞭解老師的課堂安排,如何跟進教學進度,讓學生在抗疫期間也能做到「停課不停學」。

澳門大學健康科學學院一眾研究生命健康的專家學者,今個學期面對疫情,迅速展開遙距教學,我們專訪了精神科臨床流行病學專家項玉濤教授、癌症研究專家羅茜教授、遺傳學專家黃值富教授和生物學專家周昶行教授分享他們遙距授課的體驗。

因應疫情調整授課內容

健康科學學院的項玉濤教授,長期研究精神科臨床流行病學、精神科臨床醫學等課題,他今個學期遙距講授《Public Health》(公共衛生),主要通過UMMoodle上傳Powerpoint (PPT),然後使用Zoom來授課。

今學期伊始,項教授便忙得喘不過氣來,花了大量時間做課前教案準備,「公共衛生和本次新型冠狀病毒肺炎的疫情密切相關,所以對授課內容的相關部分做了調整,在授課過程中我結合疫情組織了大量的討論和互動。」他表示,遙距教學效果肯定不如傳統授課方式,但在當前困難的情況下,這已經是最好的選擇。

項玉濤教授

著重案例分析

以往的面授教學,項教授很著重案例分析和討論,今學期的課程移師網絡,教學內容基本不變,但因應疫情的關係,他特別引用歷史上發生的鼠疫和霍亂等傳染病來比照、分析中國和其他國家處理疫情的優劣,他說:「我從公共衛生專業的角度告訴學生,儘管現代醫學已經非常發達,但當面臨一些突發烈性傳染病的時候,人們行之有效的處理方法往往跟幾百年前非常相似,都是需要用到公共衛生的方法才能阻斷傳染病的快速傳播。」

項教授指出,公共衛生角度處理傳染病有多個步驟,其中很重要的一個步驟是Identity(識別),即把已經感染的病人、疑似病人和密切接觸者儘快鑒別出來;然後是Isolation(隔離) ,把上述人群做好隔離的工作。「至今內地疫情傳播已經基本得到控制,但需要回顧整個過程中有哪些得與失。而日本、韓國、意大利和美國擁有先進的醫療條件,但近日受到感染的病人數目卻呈現快速增長的趨勢,是甚麼原因導致?」

關心學生心理健康

疫情剛爆發時,有幾位項教授的學生比較抑鬱和擔心,項教授在2003非典型肺型爆發時在北京一間醫院任精神科的醫生,在院外也為一些人士作輔導,並以當年經驗跟學生分享。他說:「目前我的學生情緒比較穩定,因為隨著疫情得到控制,信息公開透明,這些擔心會逐潮退去。」今次面對疫情,他還與澳大其他專家、心理治療師和輔導人員組成一支九人的心理輔導專業團隊,為隔離人士及工作人員提供心理輔導。

講解轉化醫學

健康科學學院羅茜教授主要研究乳腺癌細胞的轉移和抗藥性。今學期,她除了指導研究生,還為22名本科生講授轉化醫學,展示科研成果如何轉化為新的治療方法和藥物。

羅教授過去也有用Zoom軟件進行會議,因此農曆新年後很快就適應遙距教學,每節課都按原定計劃推進。過去數星期,羅教授講解了激素療法、細胞訊息傳遞與標靶治療、免疫療法等題目。她利用PPT和短片來講解內容,例如她特別製作了一段可顯示熒光感應細胞凋亡的片段,吸引學生。

羅茜教授

學生在家仍投入學習

每節課的一、兩星期前,羅教授會將PPT上傳到UMmoodle平台讓學生預習,課後又將用Zoom上課的片段放到UMMoodle。她認為,將課堂錄下來有助學生重溫,也能讓請假的同學追上進度,提升整體的教學成效。「遙距教學當然無法完全取代面授教學,但學生在網上能夠有效學到新東西,這就是我最關注的。」

讓羅教授感到最高興的是,學生在家中依然全情投入學習,「他們提出的問題比在校園上課時更有深度,可見他們真正學習到新知識。」

羅教授又說,學生毋須下課後趕到另一間課程,因此有更多時間參與討論。「在網上授課時,我可以在原定下課時間後繼續回答學生的問題,雖然有時用的時間稍為長了,但是非常值得。」

研究計劃寫作課

研究多巴胺能神經元的基本生化和遺傳機制的黃值富教授,他今學期為58名研究生上一門關於撰寫研究計劃和草稿的遙距課程。過去數週,他在每堂課開始時都在UMMoodle問一條簡單問題,學生只有10分鐘時間回答,這樣他就能夠迅速知道出席率。

除了講解PPT,黃教授每節課會要求學生做兩到三題寫作練習,再將答案上載到UMMoodel,每題限時20分鐘。黃教授之後會即時選一些例子加以講解。他說 :「遙距教學非常適合這種寫作課程,由於分發練習題目和提交答案都在UMMoodle完成。時間一到,我只需看看UMMoodle,就能知道有多少同學完成練習,比起在課室時由教學助理逐一收集答案,這樣節省了不少時間。」

黃值富教授

三小時課內容緊湊

黃教授每節課長近三小時,內容緊湊,保持了原有教學進度。他說,大多數學生都比較害羞,不願在線上「露面」,但會在聊天室熱烈地提問和討論。「在三小時裡,我要兼顧很多東西,一邊講課、一邊切換投影片,還要留意同學在聊天室討論甚麼,每堂課我都覺得過得很快。」

黃教授還說,他上第一節課時坐在家中的房間,被學生發現他的房間有點雜亂,於是把鏡頭設為內置功能,並把背景換成一間被白雪覆蓋的芬蘭小屋。他笑說:「芬蘭是一個非常美麗的地方,我曾在當地教學和生活20年,現在每年還會回去一到兩次。」

預先錄製口頭報告

與黃教授一起指導同一班研究生的周昶行教授說:「進行遙距口頭報告時受網速不穩影響,我因此要求學生預先錄影好口頭報告的影片,再上傳至UMMoodle供我和黃教授批閱。」

周昶行教授(上排左一)使用Zoom與學生互動

周教授表示,學生對遙距教學的反應積極,課堂出席率十分高,亦準時提交作業。「部分學生更十分喜歡在聊天室提問及討論,課堂氣氛整體來說非常活躍。」



UMMoodle

UMMoodle是澳大的網上教學平台,2008年啟用。在該平台上,學生可以取得與課程相關的學習資源,包括文字檔、PPT和短片,也可以提交作業和參與測驗等。

網址:https://ummoodle.um.edu.mo

澳大教與學優化中心在線教學資源
網址:https://go.um.edu.mo/6rjvczah