Distance Education Series
Interviews with FST Professors

Text: Kelvin U │ Photo: Provided by interviewees

Editor’s Notes: Since the novel coronavirus outbreak and the consequent suspension of classes to prevent the spread of the virus, distance education has become a hot topic in Macao, Hong Kong, and mainland China. Here at the University of Macau (UM), faculty members have been offering online courses to ensure that students keep learning amid class suspension. In the upcoming My UM articles, we will cover the online courses from different faculties and departments and take a closer look at how faculty members prepare these courses and how they monitor the students’ learning progress.

In response to the outbreak of the novel coronavirus, faculty members in the Faculty of Science and Technology (FST) promptly made a transition from classroom teaching to online teaching. How do they ensure that students keep learning at home while satisfying the educational requirements of their professional fields?

Meticulous Pre-class Preparation

Since February, Associate Professor Wong Fai has been teaching a course in natural language processing (NLP) using the online teaching platform UMMoodle and the software Zoom. The course involves deep learning in artificial intelligence and focuses on the applications of models and algorithms that allow computers to understand human languages and generate meaningful texts. ‘This course is very interesting because it covers a wide range of topics in artificial intelligence,’ says Prof Wong. ‘The online course can help students learn more about NLP at home, but we as teachers must do a lot of preparation to create a flexible learning experience for the students.’

Prof Wong Fai gives an online lecture

Prof Wong is a long-time user of UMMoodle, which he finds useful for monitoring students’ learning progress. As a result, his students have been able to adapt to the online education mode fairly quickly. ‘With traditional classroom teaching, we usually make preparations based on textbooks, but with online teaching, we also have to prepare extracurricular reading materials on interesting NLP topics for students to read at home. These topics include auto-spam filtering, auto-gender analysis, language models, and auto-spell checker,’ says Prof Wong. He also encourages students to study related topics and upload information they find that might be useful to other students to UMMoodle.

Watching Recorded Lectures at Their Own Pace

To keep students updated on the course’s latest progress, Prof Wong has created a WeChat chat group, in which he shares important information and reminds students to do pre-class reading. He used to upload lecture slides to UMMoodle after class, but now he uploads them and other learning materials before each class to help students study in advance. According to Prof Wong, online lectures are similar to traditional lectures conducted in a classroom setting, except that the former is broadcast live via Zoom. ‘The best thing about Zoom is its recording function,’ he says. ‘It allows students to review the content after class,’ says Prof Wong.

Prof Wong Fai

He further explains: ‘My course involves a lot of mathematical theories, which students may not be able to fully absorb in class. But by watching the recorded videos, they can re-study these theories at their own pace and catch up. Also, students can engage in real-time discussions and ask me questions during class time.’

When asked how he evaluates students’ understanding of the course content, Prof Wong says that the assignments and student presentations every other week help him keep track of students’ learning progress. ‘A traditional classroom with lecture slides is more static. In an online setting, students have the option to watch my teaching videos at their own pace. This is a huge advantage of online education,’ he says.

More Active in Asking Questions via Typing

Lao Keng Weng, an assistant professor in UM’s State Key Laboratory of Internet of Things for Smart City, is a researcher in high-efficiency smart energy. This semester, he and another assistant professor Wong Chi Kong jointly teach an online course in electricity and life. Prof Lao uploads lecture content to UMMoodle with audio commentary before each class and discuss with students via Zoom. In each online class, he presents three to four questions related to everyday life and students are required to answer them during class time. According to Prof Lao, this strategy helps to enhance students’ understanding of the course content. ‘Students tend to be shy in a traditional classroom setting. Now with a computer screen separating us, they seem to feel more comfortable answering and asking questions by typing,’ says Prof Lao.

Prof Lao Keng Weng gives an online lecture

Teaching and Learning Back on Track

Are the tools for distance education easy to use? I found the answer to this question while conducting an online interview with FST Assistant Professor Lok Man Hoi via Zoom. During the interview, Prof Lok demonstrated how he interacts with students in class. The video output was smooth and his voice was clear from the computer. I found the interface quite simple to use and was able to remember most of the controls after using it only once. ‘Zoom is a good tool for distance education,’ says Prof Lok. ‘The software allows teachers to give lectures to a large number of students at the same time.’

Prof Lok Man Hoi

In this semester, Prof Lok teaches an undergraduate course in soil mechanics and a postgraduate course in advanced topics in soil mechanics. According to him, teaching and learning at UM is gradually going back on track following the university’s instructions. ‘A shift from classroom-based education to distance education cannot happen overnight. UM’s Centre for Teaching and Learning Enhancement has been working hard to promote online education,’ says Prof Lok. ‘The centre holds workshops on a regular basis to introduce faculty members to different online teaching tools and encourage them to share their experience with these tools. I have participated in these workshops many times. This is a great opportunity for me to put my knowledge into practice.’

Overcoming the Limitations of Distance Education

According to Prof Lok, it is impossible for online education to completely replace classroom education because of its lack of face-to-face interaction. He explains: ‘Zoom has its limitations. If students turn off their webcam, it’s hard to know if they are paying attention. For this reason, each online session should not last too long. It’s best to leave some time for students to ask questions, otherwise it would become a one-way process, without any guarantee that the students would absorb the knowledge well.’

The teaching materials prepared by Prof Lok



UMMoodle

Launched in 2008, UMMoodle is an online teaching platform at UM, where students can obtain course-related learning resources including text files, PPTs and video clips. They can also submit assignments and take quizzes on the platform.

Website: https://ummoodle.um.edu.mo/

Learning resources from UM’s Centre for Teaching and Learning Enhancement
Website:
https://go.um.edu.mo/6rjvczah

遙距教學系列

專訪科技學院教授

文:余偉業 │ 圖:受訪者提供

【編按】自新型冠狀病毒肺炎爆發後,遙距教學在澳門、香港和內地的高校師生之間,迅速成為熱門話題。因抗疫停課的關係,澳門大學各學院老師即利用網上教學平台展開遙距教學。《澳大人》報導一系列不同院系的遙距課程,瞭解老師的課堂安排,如何跟進教學進度,讓學生在抗疫期間也能做到「停課不停學」。

面對突如其來的疫情,澳門大學科技學院一眾老師迅速把課堂轉至網絡,開展遙距教學。他們如何因應各自專業的教學需求,讓學生在抗疫期間繼續學習?

周密的課前準備

今學期二月開始至今,澳大科技學院副教授黃輝一直透過UMMoodle網上教學平台和Zoom軟件等,為其「自然言語處理」課程進行授課,深入淺出講解人工智能如何深度學習,剖析計算機如何「理解」人類語言,然後生成語言等的模型算法,以及相關的應用。黃教授表示,這門課程很有趣,涉及人工智能廣泛的知識點,而遙距教學可鼓勵學生瞭解更多;但前提是老師要做好周密的課前準備,使學生更靈活學習。

黃輝教授進行現場直播的教學

黃教授一直都有使用UMMoodle作為輔助教學的工具,跟進學生的學習進度,因此今學期要進行遙距教學時,學生很快適應網上的學習模式。他說:「與以往在課堂授課不同的是,除了準備課本講解外,還額外給學生找了一些與自然語言處理應用有關的、有趣課外閱讀,如垃圾郵件的自動檢查、文章作者性別的識別、語言模型、拼寫自動糾錯等方法的介紹。」黃教授還鼓勵學生在抗疫期間涉獵多點知識,並把相關資料上載至UMMoodle。

方便學生重溫

為讓學生清楚目前的教學情況,黃教授與學生開設了微信群,即時公佈任何重要訊息,並提醒學生做好課前閱讀。以往,黃教授習慣上課後才把課堂的投影片上載至UMMoodle,現在則改為課前,並附以更多相關的學習素材,幫助學生吸收課本的知識,甚至把下一堂課部分教材上載作為預告。對黃教授而言,遙距教學是變相利用Zoom進行現場直播的教學,「這樣的最大好處是課堂錄影的功能,方便學生重溫課堂上的內容。」

黃輝教授

黃教授說:「這門課涉及很多數學理論,學生很多時聽一次未必完全明白,因此透過影片,學生能在課後多次重溫較複雜的課題,跟著步驟自行解題,這樣能有助他們跟上進度。另外,也可以進行即時討論,有甚麼不清晰,可以即時發問,即時解答。」

至於如何確保學生對知識的掌握,黃教授表示,基本上每隔一週就會佈置不同的作業和課題報告,學生的進度一目了然。他說:「之前課堂的投影片較為靜態,現在則較為靈活,學生何時何地都可以重溫教學片段,並根據自己的步伐去學習,這也是遙距教學的一大優勢。」

學生變「鍵盤勇士」

在智慧城市物聯網國家重點實驗室從事高效智慧能源研究的澳大助理教授劉景榮,今學期與另一位助理教授黃志剛一起為通識科「電力與生活」遙距授課。劉教授會預先把每週學習內容上載至UMMoodle,並配上聲音講解,然後透過Zoom與學生一起討論。劉教授每次會拋出三至四個內容與生活有關的問題,讓學生思考,即場作答,從而加強學生對學習內容的理解,「以往面授教學,大家較為害羞,如今隔著屏幕,學生好似變了『鍵盤勇士』,勇於打字發問。」

「有些學生會主動在網上搜尋更多短片和資訊,並主動發問和互動,這一點讓我非常驚訝。」劉教授說。

劉景榮與學生進行教學互動

教學有序開展

遙距教學的實際操作是否便利?跟澳大科技學院助理教授陸萬海通過Zoom的會議功能進行視像訪問,筆者親身體驗了遙距教學模式。陸教授在訪問時示範了與學生上課的情況,整個影像輸出過程流暢,聲音清晰,而且操作介面簡單,基本上用過一次後便能熟悉操作。陸教授說:「這軟件是遙距教學一個不錯的工具,容許老師同一時間與幾十名學生進行授課。」

陸教授今學期分別有兩門課程:「土力學前沿」(本科生)和「高級土力學」(研究生)進行遙距授課,而相關的教學工作正按大學指引有序開展。他認為,「遙距教學」並非一朝一夕之事,澳大教與學優化中心(CTLE)一直都在推動相關工作,「CTLE經常會舉辦工作坊,向老師介紹不同遙距教學的工具,並分享使用心得,我長期參與其中,今次是一次學以致用的好機會。」

陸萬海教授

取長補短

陸教授坦承遙距教學難以取代面授教學,畢竟始終缺少了面對面的溝通,「Zoom亦非萬能工具,當學生關了視像鏡頭,老師難以肯定他們是否在專心上課。上課也不宜太長,期間要預留時間給學生發問,否則就會成了單向教學,學生未必接收到知識。」

陸萬海教授的教學素材

陸教授因此取長補短,上課前會先上載投影片,片內附錄音解釋,並要求學生除了閱讀課本知識,也要預先聆聽錄音,提前預習土木工程的基本理論。遙距授課時,陸教授會先關心學生的狀況,讓學生分享抗疫期間遇到的困難,作為課前的小小互動,然後才入正題,把複雜難懂的概念即場演繹一次,當有學生不明白,可隨時發問,增強互動性。他說:「跟文科生不同,理科學生面授上課的互動性較低,如微積分,進行推理和公式較多,因此講的機會較少。遙距教學也不可以扭轉這狀況,因此需要因應不同的學習模式取長補短,有時更需隨機應變。」



UMMoodle

UMMoodle是澳大的網上教學平台,2008年啟用。在該平台上,學生可以取得與課程相關的學習資源,包括文字檔、PPT和短片,也可以提交作業和參與測驗等。

網址:https://ummoodle.um.edu.mo

澳大教與學優化中心在線教學資源
網址:https://go.um.edu.mo/6rjvczah