Distance Education Series
Interviews with FED Professors

Text:Ella Cheong, Debby Seng │ Photo:Provided by the interviewees

Editor’s Notes: Since the novel coronavirus outbreak and the consequent suspension of classes to prevent the spread of the virus, online education has become a hot topic in Macao, Hong Kong, and mainland China. Here at the University of Macau (UM), faculty members have been offering online courses to ensure that students keep learning amid class suspension. In the upcoming My UM articles, we will cover the online courses from different faculties and departments and take a closer look at how faculty members prepare these courses and how they monitor the students’ learning progress.

Since the start of Chinese New Year, Associate Professors Zhou Yisu, Cheng Chun Wai and Assistant Professor Liu Naihua in the Faculty of Education (FED) have been conducting online teaching. Their courses include ‘Comparative Education’, ‘Child and Family Education’ and is ‘Teaching and Learning of the Grammar and Rhetoric of Literary Chinese’.

Asynchronous Education

Prof Zhou has two computers on his office desk. He uses these computers to conduct online teaching and communicate with his students, and he records the teaching materials with his mobile phone.

Prof Zhou Yisu gives an online class

Prof Zhou began experimenting with distance education two years ago. He would share all teaching materials, reading materials, videos, and his comments on student assignments on UMMoodle.

The ‘Comparative Education’ course he offers in this academic year is mainly taught with an asynchronous approach. ‘This gives students the flexibility to study at their own pace,’ he says. ‘I also give them mandatory and selective reading lists so they can choose the content that suits their level of ability and interest.’

Creating Electronic Course Materials

Prof Zhou also creates electronic course materials to facilitate learning. ‘Students can view my slides without having to download any software,’ he says. ‘I also upload reading materials and after-class questions on UMMoodle. Before each lecture, I create an audio file to explain all the slides used in that lecture. I edit the audio file and then upload it to UMMoodle. Then I discuss course content with my students on Zoon or Tencent Meeting.’

Some of the learning materials Prof Zhou shares with the students

Prof Zhou has also created a WeChat group to answer students’ questions. For big-class undergraduate courses, Prof Zhou’s teaching assistant acts as the moderator between him and the students to communicate on their behalf. For small-class postgraduate courses, he communicates with the students directly. He also emails frequently with his students to monitor their learning progress, and plans to create more avenues for students to have real-time interaction with him.

According to Prof Zhou, it takes more time to prepare course materials with distance education. For instance, a three-hour-per-week teaching load usually requires him to prepare 50 to 70 pages of course materials, which takes around eight to ten hours. Take his ‘Comparative Education’course for example. In preparing the course materials for one unit about Cuba’s achievements in education, he designed 50 pages of course materials. He explains: ’Online education increases the amount of time required for preparing course materials because it’s different from education that takes place in a physical classroom.’

Technical challenge is another issue Prof Zhou has to overcome with online teaching. He explains, ‘Technology is not the end, it’s a means to an end, which is education. So my strategy is to focus on the content. No one teacher can incorporate all the latest technologies in his or her education. For that to happen, you need a professional team. The good news is that UMMoodle is really helpful, and the colleagues in the Centre for Teaching and Learning Enhancement provide great support in the process.’

Adjusting Content with Each Course

Prof Liu Naihua teaches four courses in this semester. They are Child and Family Education, Playing and Learning, Integrated General studies and Scientific Activities, and Guidance and Counselling in Early Childhood.

Prof Liu Naihua records audio files

In addition to course materials, videos, and other reference materials, Prof Liu also uploads old student assignments to UMMoodle and Zoom. She also uses other platforms that are popular among the students, such as YouTube. For example, sometimes she would first upload a video to YouTube, and then provide suggestions in text or audio form while simultaneously soliciting student feedback in a WeChat group.

To address the lack of teacher-student interaction in distance education, Prof Liu makes a point of designing questions that inspire thinking and discussion. Students are required to select any one of the questions and write a report of about 1,000 to 2,000 words on the subject, which will be evaluated as part of the their overall performance in each course. She adjusts the content with each course. She says: ‘Distance education relies heavily on words and files, which increases the amount of time spent collecting and consolidating materials. Then you also need to record audio files, learn how to use new software, and edit the final products, which are even more time-consuming. So it’s necessary to adjust the content to suit this mode of education. The amount of time required in preparing before each class increases, but the upside is that it allows us to carefully review the course content in a way we wouldn’t have otherwise been able to, and it also removes the time pressure.’

Prof Liu Naihua gives an online class

With a Thin Veil in Between

Prof Liu thinks that one drawback of distance education is its lack of real-time feedback, discussion, and interaction that are often an integral part of classroom education. She also finds this the greatest challenge with online teaching. ‘With online education, it’s like there is a thin veil in between. There are many issues and difficulties that I hope I can gradually overcome and improve. It’s an ongoing trial-and-error process,’ she says.

New Course in Life Education

During the anti-epidemic period, Prof Liu not only closely monitors the students’ learning progress, but also offers a new course in life education, which is designed to help students maintain physical and mental wellbeing. She recorded a voice message to tell her students that she cared about their wellbeing. She also provides psychological counselling for those in need, teaches students how to practise reserve thinking, and offers other heart-warming suggestions to help students stay positive.

Upload Videos to Moodle

One of the courses Prof Cheng Chun Wai teaches in this semester is ‘Teaching and Learning of the Grammar and Rhetoric of Literary Chinese’. To help students feel as if they were studying the course in a classroom, Prof Cheng always records his computer screen with screen recording software while he explains the content and types or highlights the key points. He then uploads the video to Stream and posts the link to the video on UMMoodle so that students can click and watch the video.

Prof Cheng Chun Wai

Prof Cheng is no stranger to screen recording software, but when he first started preparing for the online course, he didn’t know much about how to produce or edit videos. ‘Producing course videos is not technically demanding, but it takes a bit learning,’ he says. Of course he has encountered some technical problems in the process, but he was always able to solve them quickly by consulting computer technicians at the university.

Prof Cheng Chun Wai gives an online class

Prompt Testing to Assess Student Understanding

To add an element of interactivity in online education, Prof Cheng always designs one or two questions for each teaching video to test students’ understanding of the content. These questions usually come in the form of yes-or-no questions, multiple-choice questions, or short-answer questions. The system records the students’ names, email addresses, and answers to the questions so that Prof Cheng can check the answers. Students who have questions about the content can leave a message in the comments section. ‘It also takes some time for the students to adjust to this sudden change in the mode of education,’ he says. ‘It makes me so happy when my students tell me they like my videos, and they seem to be more active in answering the questions than when we first started this online mode.’


UMMoodle

Launched in 2008, UMMoodle is an online teaching platform at UM, where students can obtain course-related learning resources including text files, PPTs and video clips. They can also submit assignments and take quizzes on the platform.

Website: https://ummoodle.um.edu.mo/

Learning resources from UM’s Centre for Teaching and Learning Enhancement
Website:https://go.um.edu.mo/6rjvczah

遙距教學系列
專訪教育學院教授

文:張愛華、盛惠怡 │ 圖:受訪者提供

【編按】自新型冠狀病毒肺炎爆發後,遙距教學在澳門、香港和內地的高校師生之間,迅速成為熱門話題。因抗疫停課的關係,澳門大學各學院老師即利用網上教學平台展開遙距教學。《澳大人》報導一系列不同院系的遙距課程,瞭解老師的課堂安排,如何跟進教學進度,讓學生在抗疫期間也能做到「停課不停學」。

教育學院的一眾老師農曆新年開始因抗疫停課的關係,即把課程轉為遙距教學。我們訪問了副教授周憶粟、鄭振偉和助理教授劉乃華,他們教授的課程各有特色,涉及「比較教育」、「幼兒與家庭教育」及「文言語法修辭教與學」。

採用非共時教學手段

周憶粟教授的辦公桌上配備兩個電腦屏幕,這段時間,他的網上教學、跟學生溝通都靠這台電腦和輔助軟件完成,還有用來錄製講義的手提電話。

周憶粟教授進行遙距教學

兩年前,周教授已開始試行遙距教學,他把所有課程講義、閱讀資料、影片資料、作業評核,通過UMMoodle網上教學平台分享給學生。

他今學年開設的「比較教育」課程,主要採用非共時(asynchronous)的教學手段,「這樣給每位學生都有緩衝的餘地——選擇你喜歡的時間,用你喜歡的節奏來上課。每週還佈置必讀和選讀的內容,供不同能力和興趣的學生選擇。」

把講義製作網上版本

周教授還把所有講義(Slides、投影片)製作網上版本,「Slides不侷限於任何軟件,學生毋須安裝任何新的工具即可瀏覽。我同時在UMMoodle上提供閱讀材料和課後思考,把每堂課的Slides錄製一個音軌來講解講義,編輯後上載至UMMoodle,另外還用Zoom或騰訊會議與學生就上課內容做進一步的面對面討論。

周憶粟教授給予學生的部分學習素材

周教授也有開設WeChat討論群回應學生的疑問,本科的大班額課程會由教學助理來作為老師和上課學生中間的調節人(Moderator),向雙方傳達信息。在研究生班額比較小的班級裡,他會直接與學生互動。他還使用很多的電子郵件來與學生溝通,力求追蹤每一位學生的學習軌跡。對於有學生提出希望增加實時互動的機會,周教授已計劃逐步增加直接互動的場合。

周教授說,遙距授課準備教案的一次性投入比較長,對於一門新課程,每週以三小時計算,要投入8至10小時的時間製作一份講義(50至70頁左右),以他的「比較教育」課程為例,其中一個有關古巴教育成果(Cuba’s education achievement)的單元,就設計了50頁的Slides。他說網上教學增加了準備講課大綱的時間,「因為不可能把3個小時都當成講課(Lecturing),所以準備時間會更長。」

在準備的過程中除了教學內容上的挑戰,技術也是一個難點。「技術只為實現教學目的而存在的手段,我目前的策略是專注內容,技術手段為次要。對於單個老師,是不可能融匯所有最新的教育技術並加以運用的,必定需要一個強大的專業化團隊在背後支持。好在UMMoodle對老師幫助很大,教與學優化中心的同事也提供了相當大的支援。」

按課程屬性調整內容

教育學院劉乃華教授今學期有四門課,分別是「幼兒與家庭教育」(Childand Family Education)、「遊戲與學習」(Playing and Learning)、「綜合常識與科學」(Integrated General studies and Scientific Activities)、「幼兒指導與輔導」(Guidance and Counseling in Early Childhood)。

劉乃華教授錄製講義

每一門課按教學綱要製作教材、影片或其他參考資料,更會把先前學生做過的內容彙整上傳給學生參考。目前劉教授除了使用UMMoodle和Zoom上傳教學資源外,也按學生習慣使用的軟件,如用YouTube上傳影片,然後再以文字或錄音給予建議。同時在WeChat設立群組即時反饋。


考慮到遙距課程較缺少互動性,劉教授特別設計一些個人思考題、判斷題讓學生進行腦力激盪。從這些思考題中請學生自行擇一題回答,再撰寫大約1,000至2,000字的書面報告,作為個人成績的一部分。她表示,不同的課程屬性,設計的內容也會隨之調整,「遙距教學必須仰賴大量的文字及文件,因此收集資料及彙整的時間變長,加上錄音的練習,軟件的學習、熟練、修正更費時間。先前課程的內容必須因應遙距學習的特性進行調整,確實所費的備課時間增加,但也較能細細去思考教學內容,沒有先前一堂課的時間壓迫性。」

劉乃華教授進行遙距教學

教學猶如隔著一層薄紗

劉教授的課程需要實作部分較多,她認為因遙距授課的限制,失去很多即時回饋、相互激盪討論、假設實驗的互動機會,這也是線上教學最大的挑戰部分,「線上教學猶如隔著一層薄紗,諸多部分仍然要因應調整及逐漸找出可突破與改善的方法,仍然再不斷嘗試與修正中。」

增設生命教育課

抗疫期間,除了跟進學習進度,劉教授還特別關注學生的身心健康,所以在停課期間特別增設了一節寶貴的生命教育課。她還錄製了一段問候語音,當中除了表達關心學生的現況外,更跟學生進行心理輔導,並提出在這段艱難時間如何進行逆向思考及一些建議,內容温暖人心。

錄製影片上載UMMoodle

教育學院鄭振偉教授今學期教授的課程是「文言語法修辭教與學」。這課程涉及大量文言文教材,為了使學生有如置身課堂,鄭教授在遙距教學時,先在電腦打開準備好的教材,再利用熒幕錄製軟件錄屏,同時講解課程內容,並於教材上打字及劃重點等。錄製完畢後,他把影片上載到視訊串流服務Stream,再將連結上載到UMMoodle供學生觀看。

鄭振偉教授

鄭教授本身已懂得運用熒幕錄製軟件,但在準備網上教學初期,他對製作及剪接影片並不熟稔,「製作教學影片對技術的要求不高,但需花時間摸索。」他在準備網課時也曾遇過一些技術問題,但諮詢過校內電腦技術人員後很快就得到解決。

鄭振偉教授進行遙距教學

即時測試學生是否理解內容

為了增加互動性,鄭教授運用了Stream的功能,在每段影片設置一至兩道是非題、選擇題或短答題等,讓學生在看教學影片時,即時測試是否理解授課內容。學生作答後,系統會記下學生的姓名、電郵地址及答案,鄭教授可於系統後台審閱。學生對授課內容有疑問時,亦可於影片下留言。「面對上課模式突如其來的改變,學生需要一些時間適應。我很高興看到學生讚好我的影片,他們現時也比起初更積極回答問題。」


UMMoodle

UMMoodle是澳大的網上教學平台,2008年啟用。在該平台上,學生可以取得與課程相關的學習資源,包括文字檔、PPT和短片,也可以提交作業和參與測驗等。

網址:https://ummoodle.um.edu.mo

澳大教與學優化中心在線教學資源
https://go.um.edu.mo/6rjvczah