Education Is the Lighting of a Fire, Not the Filling of a Pail
Prof Wang Ruibing on the Heuristic Teaching Method

Chinese & English:UM Reporter Lyra Qian │ Photo:UM Reporter Ted Yang

In today’s digital world where students have all sorts of information at their fingertips, the traditional way of teaching is faced with a massive challenge of change. ‘In the current situation, it is like students come to a well-stocked library only to look at their mobile phones. In a digital era, the heuristic method of teaching is more important than the traditional model,’ says Wang Ruibing, an associate professor in the Institute of Chinese Medical Sciences (ICMS) at the University of Macau (UM) and the recipient of the UM Teaching Excellence Award for the 2018/2019 academic year. 

Wang Ruibing, an associate professor in the ICMS at UM

Connecting Classroom to the Real World

An expert in supramolecular pharmacy and supramolecular medicine, Prof Wang received a third prize in the Natural Science Award category at the 2018 Macao Science and Technology Awards and the China Macrocyclic Arenes and Supramolecular Chemistry Rising Star Award in 2019. He has published more than 130 peer-reviewed papers in SCI-indexed journals such as Nature Communications.

Prof Wang shares his experience of how to show students the fun and real-life value of an otherwise mundane and potentially boring subject. ‘Education is about making students active learners and connecting knowledge to real-world scenarios, instead of being a one-way process of giving knowledge,’ he says.

Prof Wang is an expert on supramolecular pharmacy and supramolecular medicine

Showing Liver Cancer Treatments with Videos and Aids

According to Prof Wang, an educator’s job in a digital era is not spoon-feeding the students, but stimulating their interest in learning. ‘Students don’t come to the class to hear the teacher repeat bits and pieces of boring information they could easily find on the internet. They want to learn, but they also want to have fun and get inspiration,’ says Prof Wang. To make his class more interactive and interesting, Prof Wang uses round-table discussions and videos. For instance, when introducing minimally invasive therapies for liver cancer, Prof Wang played a short video to show students how microspheres are carried to blood vessels.

Prof Wang (left) receives the UM Teaching Excellence Award for the 2018/2019 academic year

Once, he also brought a model of a catheter (a medical device) to the classroom so that students could take an up-close look at it. He says this is a more fun and effective way to teach the relevant concepts than only using text or graphic descriptions.

Prof Wang (left) hopes students recognise the close links between textbook knowledge and real-world applications

Teaching about Patchouli and Bitter Drugs

How do we improve the stability of patchouli (a species of plant from the family Lamiaceae, commonly known as the ‘mint’ or ‘deadnettle’ family)? How can we mask the bitter taste of drugs? At the UM Teaching Excellence Award Seminar, Prof Wang left his audience with these questions which are closely related to our daily life. In the classroom, he asks his students these same questions and answered them from a scientific perspective. He says, ‘We must not give our students the impression that what they learn has nothing to do with the real world. Our discussions help them realise that knowledge is closely connected to the real world. I tend to explore the value of a subject in a practical context to encourage students to think deeper.”

Prof Wang believes that education is not the filling of a pail, but the lighting of a fire

Lighting a Fire Through Education

On receiving the Teaching Excellence Award, Prof Wang says, ‘Education is not the filling of a pail, but the lighting of a fire.’ He sees the award as a new beginning rather than a finishing line, because when it comes to education, there is no one best way; there are only better ways to teach.

教育不是裝水桶,而是點燃光
澳大王瑞兵教授談「啟發式」教學

文:校園記者錢詩雲 │ 圖:校園記者楊子逸、編輯部,部分由受訪者提供

在資訊科技發達的今天,學生可以在網上輕易獲取任何資訊,為傳統的教學模式帶來挑戰。澳門大學中華醫藥研究院副教授、2018/2019學年「澳門大學卓越教學獎」得主王瑞兵說:「現在的情況好比學生坐在在一座館藏豐富的圖書館,卻只顧埋首看手機。在數字時代,相比傳統的教學模式,更重要的是『啟發式』教學。」

澳門大學中華醫藥研究院副教授王瑞兵

連接知識與真實世界

王教授主要研究超分子藥劑學和超分子藥學,曾獲2018年度澳門特別行政區科學技術獎—自然科學類三等獎、2019年度中國大環芳烴超分子化學學術新星獎等,迄今出版包括在《Nature Communications》等期刊的逾130篇「科學引文索引」(Science Citation Index,簡稱SCI)論文。

王教授以自己的教學經驗為例,剖析如何在更廣闊的背景下展示課題的樂趣和價值。「教育不是單調地傳授知識,而是激發學生興趣,連接知識與真實世界。」

王教授(左二)主要研究超分子藥劑學和超分子藥學

以影片和道具講解肝癌治療

王教授說,現今需要的教學模式跟以往的「填鴨式教育」截然不同,在數字化時代,吸引學生注意力並啟發學生成為教學的關鍵。他指學生在課堂並非想聽枯燥重複的知識,而是希望獲得啟迪和樂趣。因此,王教授在課堂上經常採用圓桌會談、播放影片等方式令課程變得生動。例如,在介紹微創介入法治療肝癌時,王教授播放一部簡短的「血管影片」,展示載藥微球在人體血管中的遞送。

王教授(左)獲頒2018/2019學年「澳門大學卓越教學獎」

此外,王教授又將「導管模型」帶到課堂,讓學生親自接觸治療器材。他指這種教學手法比單用語言或圖片描述要生動得多,也更能吸引學生,提高教學效率。

王教授(左)希望讓學生認識到他們學習的知識與世界緊密相連

廣藿香與苦味藥物

廣藿香不穩定的缺點如何改進?如何使用科學配方遮掩藥物的苦味?王教授將這些問題拋給參與「澳門大學卓越教學獎」講座的師生。在課堂上,他同樣向學生提出這些問題,並從科學角度提供解答。王教授說,廣藿香是廣東常見的草本植物,而苦味藥物變甜是非常生活化的問題。「我們不能讓學生認為他們所學的是與社會剝離的。這些討論可以讓學生認識到他們學習的知識與世界緊密相連。我傾向在實際背景下挖掘課題的價值,啟發學生思考。」

王教授相信,教育不是將水桶裝滿,而是點亮一束光。

教育是點亮一束光

在講座上,談及獲得卓越教學獎的感受,王教授說:「教育不是將水桶裝滿,而是點亮一束光,啟發學生並激發他們學習和創新的熱情。」他認為獲獎代表著一個開始而非結束,因為在教育和教學這條道路上,向來都是「沒有最好,只有更好」。