An Abandoned Place: An Interview with Kevin Maher from ELC

Text:Senior UM Reporter Sally Liang │ Photo:UM Reporter Elcus Chan, with some provided by the interviewee

Scattered tiles, dilapidated houses that have become raccoons’ habitats, the square formerly used for recreation but now overrun by weeds… ‘Where time stops, everything is frozen in that very moment.’ says Kevin Maher, a Senior Instructor in the English Language Centre (ELC). On 11 March 2011, a 9.0-magnitude earthquake occurred off the coast of Japan, triggering a massive tsunami. After being affected by the earthquake, the Fukushima Daiichi Nuclear Power Plant exploded and caused nuclear leakage. In June 2018, Kevin Maher finally set foot on the desolate land.

Kevin with the radiometer

Back to Fukushima

Kevin Maher is from the United States. He has 23 years of teaching experience. He is currently teaching courses in public speaking, creative writing and interactive English at UM. Before joining UM in 2013, he taught in South Korea and Japan. On the day of the earthquake, Kevin was teaching in Niigata, about 90 miles from Fukushima. Although the tsunami and the nuclear leak occurred in Fukushima, the aftershocks spilled over into Niigata. ‘Everybody was in a panic because they didn’t know if a bigger earthquake was coming. The radioactive substances were being released into the air and they could be carried by wind to affect the city I was in.’ Kevin says. ‘I lived in Japan for six years, and I shared the same experience with the Japanese people. So even though I am a foreigner, emotionally I am no less attached to the city than the Japanese residents who were born there.’ Over the past eight years since the earthquake, Kevin has watched videos of the disaster on various news channels and websites, collected books about the event, and constantly wondered what has since happened to the people there.

As the radiation level in Fukushima gradually decreased, the Japanese government began to open up the Fukushima and surrounding areas for cleanup and disaster relief. Fortunately, Kevin Maher received the help from a local Japanese activist. ‘They help people like me who want to visit Fukushima after the disaster to obtain special permission to go there.’

He admitted that it was pretty scary to enter that area, ‘because once you enter the area, you’re exposed to radiation all the time, and the radiometer you have on you reminds you of that constantly, along with the ones which you could see everywhere in the disaster area,’ he says.

Left:The newspaper published on the day of the disaster
Right:The convenience store looks like it’s just been flooded

The Ruins

Because of the radiation, few people are allowed to enter the area. Even construction workers need special permission. ‘So it’s not like other earthquake-hit areas.’ says Kevin, ‘I used to think that if a city was damaged by a natural disaster, it would soon be restored. But here, even after eight years, everything looks like it has just been destroyed. The entire area is not safe for human habitation, and is barely safe even for short visits,’ says Kevin.

However, the thoughtfulness and humanity of the Japanese were vividly displayed during the disaster. ‘They try to collect all kinds of remaining stuff from the disaster area, such as children’s schoolbags, dolls and so on, and then ship them to a local specialized building to make it easier for people to claim their property or the property of the ones they lost,’ he recalls. The gravestones that were washed away by the flood were also found and collected for people to reclaim them.

Left:A broken house
Right:Dolls collected from the disaster-hit area waiting to be claimed

The People

Similar to the Chinese people, the Japanese people have a strong attachment to their motherland and ancestors. On the periphery of the high-radiation zone, many people are still risking their lives to return to their homes as some of the towns re-open for habitation. ‘It was a restaurant that reopened in 2017. The shopkeeper has been living in another place for the past six years and now he finally has the chance to return to his native land. When I talked to people like him, they told me that the young people might not come back. But the older generation still want to return, because they say death is the destination of every life, so there is no need to over-worry about nuclear radiation. They just want to go home. That sushi restaurant is a family business that has existed for over a century. They see their former life in their hometown as an obligation and responsibility to serve their community and the land, so they will always go back.’ Kevin says with admiration.

Back in those days when he was frightened by the aftershocks in Japan, Kevin felt amazed at the calm and resilient side of the Japanese people when they are faced with something tragic. When he heard his former Japanese colleagues talking about losing their homes and property because of the tsunami and nuclear radiation, he was always amazed at the way their sadness was tempered with a smile. ‘If I were living in the United States, people would be watching the news and rebuilding every day after such a major disaster. But in Japan, as I was still reeling from the shock and sense of insecurity caused by the earthquake, wondering what would be a safe place to hide in case of another disaster, my Japanese colleagues were already moving on with their lives.’

When the tsunami hit Fukushima, like a monster swallowing down cars and buildings, flattened streets and districts and left nothing but massy ruins. This is where the time froze at 2:52 pm, and newspapers are still lying around with the date “11 March 2011” forever. People got lost and the family lost their loved ones. Even so, the Japanese would still keep their daily routines and treats their tragic with respect and positivity.

Kevin and the books he has collected about the disaster

那個被遺棄的地方──澳大老師在福島的見聞

文:資深校園記者梁馨元 │ 圖:校園記者陳健聰、部分由受訪者提供

隨地散落的瓦礫、斑駁破舊的水泥屋變成浣熊的棲息之處,居民昔日休閒娛樂的廣場被雜草佔領……澳門大學英語中心高級導師Kevin Maher去了日本福島核電站災區後說:「在那裡,時間凝固不動,所有時鐘和報紙都停在那一刻。」2011年3月11日,日本東部近海發生9.0級強烈地震,引發大規模海嘯,在海邊的福島第一核電站受到波及,發生爆炸並產生核洩漏。2018年6月,曾在日本任教的Kevin踏上這片無人之境,發現時間仍然定格在八年之前……

Kevin Maher站在福島核電站災區的輻射測量儀旁

心驚膽顫

來自美國的Kevin曾在韓國和日本任教,擁有23年教學經驗;2013年加入澳大,目前主要教授英語演講、創意寫作和基礎英語課程。八年前日本地震時,他就在距離福島約149公里的新瀉縣上課。雖然海嘯和核洩漏遠在福島發生,但一波又一波的餘震也影響到新瀉。「人人每天提心吊膽,擔心更厲害的地震襲來。核輻射還可能會隨風到達我們的城市。」他回憶道:「我雖然是外國人,但在日本住了六年,與當地人共度這場災難後,對日本特別有感情。」地震後的這些年,他看了許多關於這場災難的片段,收集相關讀物,想著那裡的人和物到底變成怎樣。這一想,就是八年。

隨著核輻射的範圍和威力日降,福島和周邊地區慢慢開放,以便進行清理等工作。在當地一位公益人士幫助下,Kevin終於踏上那個被遺棄的地方。「他們會幫助像我這樣想看看災後家園的人辦手續,拿到進入福島的特殊許可。」他坦言在輻射區時心驚膽顫:「我們無時無刻暴露在輻射之中,唯一的保護措施就是在身上的輻射測量儀,這些儀器在災區隨處可見。」

左:災難當日發行的報章
右:便利店的商品散落一地

那裡的物

受輻射影響,幾乎沒有人可以進入災區,修復工程人員也難以大規模出動。Kevin說道:「這個災區與其他地方不太一樣。以前我覺得,就算城市被自然災害破壞,總會想辦法修復。但在這裡,就算八年已經過去,一切還是受破壞後的模樣。」福島是日本難以癒合的傷痕,一直以殘喘的姿態警示世人。「儘量保持原災後的面貌,或許是日本人對這個事件表示尊重和哀悼的方式。」

Kevin說,日本人的體貼與人性化在災區體現得淋漓盡致。「洪水將各種物件沖散得七零八落,於是他們嘗試在災區收集各種被棄置的物件,如小孩的書包、玩偶等,然後統一放在某個超市或學校,以便家人認領。那裡被沖散的墓碑也被重新收集到一個地方。」

左:被地震和海嘯破壞的房子
右:當地人在災區收集被棄置的玩偶待人認領

那裡的人

與中國人一樣,日本人也擁有強烈的土地情懷與宗族概念。在高輻射區附近,仍有很多人冒著危險回到他們的故土重操舊業。Kevin佩服地說:「那是一家2017年重新開業的餐廳。店主在過去六年一直住在其他地方,現在終於有機會回到故土。當我和他們交談時,他們告訴我年輕人也許不會回來,但是老一輩人會回來。他們認為反正人生都會迎接死亡,一點輻射算甚麼,他們只想回到家鄉。那間壽司店就像一個家族企業,在那裡經營了大約100年。他們將自己在家鄉的職業與生活看作對社區與土地的義務與責任,所以總會回去。」

憶起自己在餘震時擔驚受怕的日子,他有點懷念和驚嘆日本人的沉著和淡然,又指日本同事在談及因海嘯與核輻射而失去家園與財產時也總是笑著,但也會感受到他們內心的悲傷。「如果我在美國生活,一場大災難發生後,大家估計會每天盯著新聞報導和關注災區重建吧。但在日本,當我還在慌慌張張地問同事,要不要在地震期間找個安全地方避難時,大家卻冷靜地繼續一如既往的生活,令我深有感觸。」

Kevin Maher收集講述福島核災的書籍