UM Research Enhances People’s Lives

English Text: Davis Ip │ Photo: Jack Ho, Ella Cheong

The University of Macau (UM) tackles the many challenges facing humanity with pioneering research. With results which are high in academic impact, in recent years UM researchers have delivered practical solutions to improve human health and address myriad other aspects of our lives.

UM places an emphasis on research in the fields of precision medicine, advanced materials, brain science, and artificial intelligence.

In terms of citation frequency, UM is ranked in the top one per cent of global universities in five Essential Science Indicators (ESI) subjects, namely Clinical Medicine, Engineering, Pharmacology & Toxicology, Computer Science, and Social Sciences, General. According to the ISI Web of Science, the number of high-quality journal articles published by UM staff and students soared from around 100 in 2009 to over 1,000 so far this year. Having gained international recognition, UM’s leaders believe that the ability to solve real-world problems is yet another vital measure for the impact of research, a conviction reflected in the following breakthroughs.

An eco-friendly model antibiotic developed by UM researchers, which will not lead to antibiotic resistance when discharged into the environment.

Eco-friendly Antibiotic

Antibiotics have saved countless lives over the past century, but their mishandling or overuse, including the careless disposal of antibiotics from pharmaceuticals or hospitals, has spurred the process in which bacteria become antibiotic-resistant, making infections harder to treat. To address this problem, UM researchers developed an eco-friendly model antibiotic which, as long as it has not been activated, does not lead to antibiotic resistance when discharged into the natural environment. This research was jointly undertaken by research teams led by Wang Ruibing, assistant professor in the Institute of Chinese Medical Sciences (ICMS), and Zheng Jun, assistant professor in the Faculty of Health Sciences (FHS). Their paper was published in Chemical Communications.

Phone-to-phone Charging

We might have all thought about the possibility of charging our phone with someone else’s, especially when it is running out of power. UM scientists designed a new microelectronics chip allowing charging between mobile devices without additional hardware. The chip achieves a 58.6 per cent battery-to-battery efficiency, a breakthrough in wireless charging. This invention can be applied in the production of consumer electronics and industrial fields while turbocharging the creation of Internet of Things ecosystems. The members of the team which developed this technology, consisting of Post-doctoral Fellow Huang Mo, Assistant Professor Lu Yan, Visiting Professor U Seng Pan, and Chair Professor Rui Martins, are applying for a patent in the United States. Their paper was presented at the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 65th International Solid-State Circuits Conference (ISSCC) in San Francisco, where the team received the 2017 Takuo Sugano Award for Outstanding Far-East Paper.

A new microelectronics chip designed by UM researchers, which can turn mobile phones into chargers.

Next-generation LED Lighting

Since its first application in 2009, perovskite solar cell has drawn great attention and achieved remarkable progress in terms of power conversion efficiency. Meanwhile, some scientists have explored the potentials of perovskite in the opposite direction – creating an energy-efficient and low-cost lighting source with perovskite. However, the slow bimolecular recombination that drives three-dimensional lead-halide perovskites’ outstanding photovoltaic performance is a bottleneck in enhancing the luminous efficiency of perovskite lighting. In this regard, scientists from UM and two partner universities discovered that this limitation can be overcome by tailoring the dimensional structure of perovskites, laying a theoretical foundation for the production of high-performance perovskite light emitting diode (LED). The research project was led by Xing Guichuan, assistant professor in the Institute of Applied Physics and Materials Engineering; Prof Huang Wei, president of Nanjing Tech University; and Prof Sum Tze Chien from Nanyang Technological University. The related finding has been published in Nature Communications. Prof Xing is one of the initiators of the research in the application of this new type of perovskites.

Scientists from UM and two partner universities discovered that this limitation can be overcome by tailoring the dimensional structure of perovskites, laying a theoretical foundation for the production of high-performance perovskite light emitting diode (LED).

Depression Treatment Gap Discovered

More than 300 million people around the world suffer from depression, but Macao has long lacked a population representative study of current depression among adults. This research gap was eventually filled by Brian Hall, assistant professor in the Department of Psychology, and his Global and Community Mental Health Research Group. The group found that 8 per cent of Chinese adults in Macao are likely to be depressed, and the prevalence of depression in the city is higher than that in mainland China and Hong Kong. According to the study, depression is most prevalent among women across the life course, middle-aged men, and seniors at age 65 or over. The study highlighted a treatment gap in Macao – there are many more people who need high-quality psychological treatment than the number of professionals who deliver these treatments. Published in Social Psychiatry and Psychiatric Epidemiology, this epidemiological study is the first step to establishing whether mental health should be a public health priority in Macao.

Many UM scholars and students have received prizes at the Macao Science and Technology Awards. (Source: Government Information Bureau)

New Target for Cancer Immunotherapy

Cancer is difficult to cure partly because tumours and surrounding cells create a tumour microenvironment, a no-fly zone where tumours can hide from the immune system. This microenvironment includes highly immunosuppressive regulatory T lymphocytes (Treg cells). Many scientists had believed that TNF (tumour necrosis factor) receptor type II (TNFR2) downregulated Treg function, until a recent UM research project overturned this assumption and suggested a new direction for immunology. This discovery was jointly made by Chen Xin, professor in ICMS and Dr Joost J Oppenheim from the National Cancer Institute of the National Institutes of Health in the United States. Their research shows that contrary to conventional wisdom, TNFR2 acts in concert with TNF to activate the most immunosuppressive type of Tregs to promote tumour growth. They also found that targeting TNFR2 can enhance anti-tumour immune responses and kill cancer cells. The study was published earlier this year as an Editor’s Choice research paper with a commentary in Science Signaling, part of the Science family of journals, and featured in life science magazine The Scientist.

澳大多項研究 有助改善生活

文:葉浩男 │ 圖:何杰平、張愛華

澳門大學以卓越研究解決人類健康和生活面對的難題,近年創出眾多兼具學術影響力與實際方案的成果。

澳大積極推進精準醫療、先進材料、腦科學與人工智慧等領域的研究

根據基本科學指標資料庫(ESI),澳大在工程學、藥理學與毒理學、電腦科學、社會科學總論和臨床醫學排行全球前百分之一。根據國際論文資料庫ISI Web of Science(WOS)顯示,澳大學者的高端學術論文發表數目由2009年100多篇增至2018年的1,000多篇,10年內翻了10倍。在獲得國際認可的同時,澳大深信,解決現實問題的能力也是衡量研究卓越程度的關鍵指標,以下多項突破正能反映這種價值觀。

澳大團隊提出“環保型抗生素”的創新概念,阻止流入自然的抗生素污染環境。

環保型抗生素

抗生素近百年間挽救了無數性命,但其誤用和過度使用(包括製藥廠和醫院隨意棄置未經處理的抗生素)卻令細菌加速產生針對抗生素的耐藥性,令越來越多感染難以治療。面對這個棘手問題,澳大團隊提出“環保型抗生素”的創新概念,阻止流入自然的抗生素污染環境。該研究由中華醫藥研究院助理教授王瑞兵和健康科學學院助理教授鄭軍的團隊開展,結果已在《Chemical Communications》發表。

手機變無線充電器

手機電力不足又沒有充電器時,怎樣可以從其他手機“隔空取電”? 澳大團隊設計出一款新型芯片,讓移動設備在無需增加額外硬件的情況下互相無線充電,充電效率達58.6%,為無線充電技術帶來突破。這款芯片不僅可在消費電子和工業領域廣泛應用,更有助加速構建物聯網生態系統。研究團隊由模擬與混合信號超大規模集成電路國家重點實驗室博士後研究員黃沫、助理教授路延、客座教授余成斌和講座教授馬許願組成,正就相關發明申請美國專利。有關論文在三藩市舉行的第65屆國際固態電路研討會(ISSCC)發表,榮獲ISSCC 2017菅野卓雄遠東傑出論文獎。

澳大研發的芯片使手機變無線充電器

下一代LED技術

鈣鈦礦太陽能電池在2009年面世後,其光電轉換效率在十年間變得越來越高,廣受注目。與此同時,科學家積極研究以鈣鈦礦製造更加節能和低成本的人造光源,但由於常規三維結構的鈣鈦礦有“載流子雙分子重合”緩慢的問題,在鈣鈦礦發光效率方面始終面對瓶頸。針對這個問題,澳大與兩所合作院校成功爲製造高效的新型鈣鈦礦發光二極體(LED)奠定理論基礎。該研究由應用物理及材料工程研究所助理教授邢貴川以第一作者的身份,與南京工業大學校長黃維院士、新加坡南洋理工大學岑子健教授共同主導。研究結果已獲《Nature Communications》刊登。邢貴川博士也是鈣鈦礦在發光研究領域的起始人之一。

澳大與兩所合作院校成功爲製造高效的新型鈣鈦礦發光二極體(LED)奠定理論基礎

揭示抑鬱症治療缺口

全球逾3億人患有抑鬱症,但澳門卻長期缺乏具人口代表性的成人抑鬱症調查,有關空白終於被澳大團隊填補。心理學系助理教授賀佰恩與該系全球及社區心理健康研究小組的調查發現,澳門8%中國籍成年人有罹患抑鬱症的風險,患病率高於內地和香港。研究顯示,澳門最容易患上抑鬱症的人群包括女性、中年男性和65歲以上長者,但澳門需要高質素心理治療的抑鬱症患者人數超過醫療工作者的應付能力,存在治療缺口。是次針對澳門人抑鬱症的患病率評估將有助施政者考量是否應把“心理健康”納入公共衛生領域的工作項目之一。研究結果獲《Social Psychiatry and Psychiatric Epidemiology》刊登。

師生的研究成果於澳門科學技術獎頒獎禮中獲嘉許並囊括多個獎項

腫瘤免疫治療新靶標

腫瘤難以治療,原因之一是它們能在自身周圍製造“腫瘤微環境”,避開免疫系統的偵測和攻擊,成份包括具強烈免疫抑制功能的調節性T淋巴細胞。不少科學家一直相信,人體內的腫瘤壞死因子(TNF)通過其第二型受體(TNFR2)會令調節性T淋巴細胞的功能下調,但這個理論卻被澳大研究推翻,為腫瘤免疫治療開闢新路。中華醫藥研究院教授陳新與美國國家衛生研究院國家腫瘤研究所的Joost J. Oppenheim 博士的合作研究結果證明,TNFR2與TNF會共同激活調節性T淋巴細胞,從而促進腫瘤生長。他們更發現只要以TNFR2作為藥物靶標、阻斷其激活調節性T淋巴細胞,就能增強抗腫瘤免疫反應,進而殺死腫瘤細胞。科學雜誌子刊《Science Signaling》於今年年初發表了這項研究,並爲其配發了編者按。該項研究繼而獲國際知名的生命科學專業雜誌《科學家》報道。